Odeion String Quartet to visit the Southern Cape

The Odeion String Quartet with pianist Malcolm Nay and guitarist Jonathan Crossley with works by Brahms, Boccherini and Castelnuovo-Tedesco on August 20 

The Odeion String Quartet was established at the University of the Free State (UFS) in 1991 as permanent full-time resident string quartet. At present it is the only resident string quartet at a South African university. 

The newly constituted quartet has performed to critical acclaim in Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Knysna, George, Port Elizabeth, Grahamstown, Bulawayo and Harare and the members are: Denise Sutton (violin), Sharon de Kock (violin), Jeanne-Louise Moolman (viola) and Anmari van der Westhuizen (cello). 

The renowned South African pianist Malcolm Nay joins the Odeion Quartet in a performance of the Brahms Piano Quintet and guitarist Jonathan Crossley will don his classical hat to team up with the Quartet for a performance of Luigi Boccherini Fandango (Quintet No. 4 for guitar and strings). As an added bonus, Jonathan and Malcolm will perform a rarity – a work for guitar and piano by the Italian composer Castelnuovo-Tedesco. 

Free parking is available in Senate House; the entrance is onJorissen Street, Braamfontein. 

PRODUCTION: Crossley and Nay in concert with the Odeion String Quartet

VENUE: The Atrium, S WEngineeringBuilding, Wits East Campus, Braamfontein

SEASON: Saturday 20 August 2011 at 19:30

RUNNING TIME: Two hours including interval.

BOOKING: www.ticket.co.za full price = R77; discount price = R55 (students, pensioners and Wits staff). Tickets are available at the door: full price = R80; discount price = R60 (students, pensioners and Wits staff).

ENQUIRIES: 011 717 1376 / Catherine.pisanti@wits.ac.za

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →