SWD Krieketnuus


Salvin Hannie – nuwe afrigter van die SWD Vroue-span

Salvin Hannie, wat verskeie seisoene reeds groot sukses as afrigter van die SWD 0/19 Dogters krieketspan behaal het, is verlede week aangewys as afrigter van die SWD Vroue krieketspan vir die 2011/12 seisoen. Die SWD-span, het verlede seisoen teleurstellend vertoon in die Krieket Suid-Afrika Vroue Uitdaagreeks en ‘n groot taak wag op Hannie en die spelers. Me Debbie le Roux is die spanbestuurder. Die SWD skop sy veldtog vir die nuwe seisoen af wanneer hulle op 8 Oktober teen Kei inFortBeaufortspeel. SWD het sy enigste twee oorwinnings verlede seisoen teen Kei behaal. 

Die volledige bepalings vir die SWD span is: 

8 Okt 2011 Kei vs SWD Ngumbela Park, Fort Beaufort

14 Jan 2012 WP vs SWD Kaapstad

15 Jan 2012 Boland vs SWD Paarl

28 Jan 2012 SWD vs Grens Oudtshoorn

29 Jan 2012 SWD vs OP Oudtshoorn

25 Feb 2012 SWD vs WP Oudtshoorn

26 Feb 2012 SWD vs Boland Oudtshoorn

10 Mar 2012 Grens vs SWD Oos Londen

11 Mar 2012 OP vs SWD Port Elizabeth

24 Mar 2012 SWD vs Kei Oudthoorn 


Vernon Seconds

Vernon Seconds is ook as afrigter van die SWD o/19 span wat aan die Krieket Suid-Afrika 0/19 Driedaagse reeks deelneem heraangestel. Die SWD se bepalings vir die reeks is: 

7 – 9 Okt 2011 WP vs SWD Kaapstad

14 – 16 Okt 2011 SWD vs Grens Oudtshoorn

25 – 27 Nov 2011 SWD vs Boland Oudtshoorn

20 – 22 Jan 2012 OP vs SWD Port Elizabeth


The domestic club season of the South Western Districts will kick-off at Saturday September, 24th 2011. The revamped T20 competition will be contested starting with a preliminary round of eight pools with all twenty-four affiliated clubs participating. Within each pool the teams will play a ‘round robin’ single round competition on 24 September. The top teams in each pool will advance to the knock-out phase – Quarter final’s (which will be played on 22 October) and the Semi-Final’s and the Final that will be played at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn on 16 December 2011 . The team with the superior ranking will enjoy home ground advantage with exceptions in the qualifying round whereby matches will be grouped to a certain venue as well as in the final’s (which will be played at the REC Ground). Ramblers Cricket Club from George is the defending champions. 

In order to promote this competition teams will play in coloured shirts (no red shirts allowed – because of the use of a red ball) with a specific brand/name attached to each club. Potential sponsor are invited to sponsor clubs who will also select a specific brand name for each club. Two clubs already took the initiative. George will be known as Sport Centre George Excalibur’s whilstMosselBaywill be known as the Whalers. 

Clubs can nominate such names to the office of the SWDCB until 16 September 2011.


Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday released the domestic fixture list for the 2011-12 season for all three professional franchise competitions. 

The season starts with the four-day SuperSport Series towards the end of September. This competition takes a break in early November for the start of the One-Day Domestic Series, the final of which takes place in early December. The SuperSport Series continues through the second half of December and part of January before the start of the T20 Domestic Series. 

The title sponsors for both the domestic limited overs series will be announced next month. 

“As far as possible we have tried to align the different competitions to coincide with the formats the Proteas will be playing at the different times of the season,” commented CSA CEO Gerald Majola. “This is also the reason why we have reverted to a 50 overs format for the One-Day Domestic Series. We will be following exactly the same conditions of play that apply for ODIs including the latest changes that come into effect from the beginning of October. 

“These include taking the batting and bowling power plays between the 15th and 40th overs and using two new balls instead of changing the ball after 34 overs. 

“I believe our domestic competitions compare favourably with the standard of domestic cricket to be found anywhere else in the world and this is borne out by the performances of our franchises at the Nokia Champions’ League as well as the successful manner in which the likes of David Miller, Rusty Theron, Colin Ingram, Imran Tahir and Faf du Plessis have moved up to playing for the Proteas. 

“I am sure we all look forward to the next group of players following the same path. The recent results ofSouth AfricaA, the Emerging Squad and South Africa under-19 have been highly encouraging in this regard.”


Raymond Avontuur

Raymond Avontuur is verlede week vir ‘n derde termyn as sameroeper van die SWD Krieketraad se senior keurkomitee aangewys. Avontuur, ‘n voormalige SWD speler se twee mede keurders is ook her-aangestel. Marius Mei en Bazil Deal, wat ook die provinsie op die krieketveld verteenwoordig is, vorm saam met die afrigter, Garry Hampson, die res van die keurkomitee.

Die SWD-span se bepalings vir die nuwe seisoen skop op 29 September af wanneer hulle teen KwaZulu Natal Binneland op Oudtshoorn speel.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →