SWD Cricket News


Two players will reach personal landmarks to play their 50th first class match for SWD. Burton de Wett (left) will reach this milestone in two weeks' time against Free State and Pieter Stuurman will become the first SWD player to reach this milestone when SWD takes on Gauteng in Johannesburg this weekend.

As the 2011/12 cricket season is drawing to a close the SWD Cricket team is on a very important mission — to become the Cricket South Africa Provincial Three Day champions. The men from the Southern Cape will play its last two rounds of matches within the next two weekends and victories in both outings will ensure the desired outcome. All three the top teams on the CSA Three Day log, Griquas at 145.46 (after 12 matches), SWD at 134.42 (after 11 matches) and Gauteng 133.14 (11 matches) have a chance to be crowned champions. 

SWD’s first challenge will be this weekend when they face Gauteng in Johannesburg.  Gautengs tayed in the race after a remarkable 1 wicket victory the past weekend when they successfully chased down 327 in their second innings to record an important victory over Eastern Province in Port Elizabeth. A partnership of 187 runs for the 8th wicket ensured success.  Gauteng have the likes of experienced players like Stephen Cook, Shane Burger and Richard das Nevas in their midst. 

For SWD, Phaphama Fojela returned after he suffered a groin injury which side-lined him for almost three months. The selectors were in a position to pick the strongest possible team and a huge responsibility will rest on the batting line-up to produce the goods. Pieter Stuurman will also reach a personal milestone when he will play his 50th first class match for SWD — the first player to reach this milestone.

The SWD squad for the weekend is: Ross McMillan (capt), Waldo Lategan, Burton de Wett, Christiaan Jonker, Brendon Louw, Pieter Stuurman, Kobus Scholtz, Phabhama Fojela, Wessel Hartslief, Rhupino Plaatjies, Gurshwin Rabie, Christo van Schalkwyk and Erinn Ewerts. 

The SWD team for the vital clash this weekend against Gauteng. Back Row: Christo van Schalkwyk, Waldo Lategan, Pieter Stuurman, Brendon Louw, Ross McMillan (Captain), Wessel Hartslief, Christiaan Jonker, Rhupino Plaatjies, Kobus Scholtz and Erinn Ewerts. Front Row: Burton de Wett, Phaphama Fojela, Garry Hampson (Coach), Steven Buhr (Psychologist)


Mr Simon Swigelaar (Honorary Life-President of SWDCB) hands over the Petersen Trophy as winners of the SWDCB Premier League to Pieter Stuurman (captain of Union Stars)

Union Stars, on Saturday, successfully defended their crown as Premier League champions of the SWD when they defeated Sussex by 6 wickets in the final. In a match that started about an hour late due to rain and was reduced to 43 overs per team, Union Stars won the vital toss and put Sussex in to bat. 

Sussex struggled against the Union Stars bowling attack that was led by Gurshwin Rabie (2/31) and only managed to score 123/6 in their allotted 43 overs. Emile Esau (28*) and Jermaine Jeonna (21*) add some respect to the Sussex innings. Union Stars, led by Sammy-Joe Avontuur (54) crossed the line for the loss of only four wickets to record an easy victory. 

The summarised score sheet is: 

Union Stars vs Sussex

SUSSEX123/6 (Emile Esau 28*, Jermaine Jeonna 21*, Regarth Olkers 15, Gurshwin Rabie 2/31, Merlin Masimela 1/15, Justin Jordaan 1/23)

UNION STARS 126/4 (Sammy Joe Avontuur 54, Geoffrey Perel 36, Jermaine Jeonna 1/15, Wayne de Jager 1/23, Jonathan Blom 1/26, Reavan Plaatjies 1/32) Union Stars won by 6 wickets.

The winners of the Premier League, Union Stars, with the Petersen Trophy are: Back Row: Denzil Erasmus (Executive Committee member), Reginald da Silva (Selector), Waldo Lategan, Lee-Henry Meyer, Gurshwin Rabie, Erinn Ewerts, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Geoffrey Perel, Juan Heunis, Pat Sambo (Executive Committee member), Chris Andries (Team Manager) and Simon Swigelaar (Honorary Life-President). Front Row: Merlin Masimela, Douglas Baartman, Pieter Stuurman (captain), Justin Jordaan, Marcello Piedt and Reagan Booysen.


Mpho Selowa, captain of Sussex, receives the trophy as runners-up of the Premier League from Mr Shael Laminie, member of the Executive Committee of the SWD Cricket Board. On the left is Albertus Kennedy (CEO of SWD Cricket)


Irvin Campher (2nd from left), captain of Pirates United, receives the trophy as winners of the SWDCB Promotion league, from Mr Enrique Pietersen (Member of the SWDCB Executive Committee). On the left is Albertus Kennedy (CEO of SWD Cricket) and on the right is Llewellyn Louw (Chairperson of Pirates United).

Pirates United, on Sunday, ended their season as the most successful team in the promotion league of the SWD Cricket Board on a high, when they won the league by defeating Melkhoutfontein by 4 wickets in the final that was played at the REC Ground in Oudtshoorn. Melkhoutfontein, who batted first, managed to put 140 runs on the board after they recovered from 63/6. 

Irvin Campher, the Pirates skipper, produced an impressive bowling performance of 4/10. Pirates cruised to victory thanks to solid batting from Rickey Bell (32), Deagan May (22) and Darrel Sigula (20*). 

The summarised score sheets are: 

Pirates United vs Melkhoutfontein

MELKHOUTFONTEIN 140 (Francois Malowietz 27, PJ Petersen 21*, Irvin Campher 4/10, Darrel Sigula 2/16, Garth Bock 2/37)

PIRATES UNITED 141/6 (Ricky Bell 32, Deagan May 22, Darrel Sigula 20*, Jacobus Micheals 3/34)

Pirates United won by 4 wickets

The team of Pirates United who won the SWD Promotion league is: Back row: Llewelyn Louw (Chairperson), Ricky Bell, Marshall Philander, Darryl Sigula, Garth Bock, Deagon May, Irvin Campher (Captain), Justin Plaatjies, Herschell Kock, Reginald Donson and Justino Koopman. Front Row: Salvin Hannie (Assistant ), Errol Martin, Urenzoll van Rheenen, Ian Spies and Xolela Khungwayo


Jacobus Michaels, captain of Melkhoutfontein, receives the trophy as runners-up of the Promotion League from Mr Enrique Pietersen, member of the Executive Committee of the SWD Cricket Board. On the left is Albertus Kennedy (CEO of SWD Cricket)


20 March 2012

Glenwoodhouse hosted the final of the U/15 Super League Limited Overs final, which was between them and Oakdale Agricultural School. Glenwood chased a small target of 91 which was made by Oakdale in 22 Overs of the 50. Glenwood reached 92 runs in 25 Overs to record the win and be crowned as U/15 Champions. 

In the other game, Oakdale hosted Langenhoven Gymnasium in the U/19 Super League Limited Overs Final. Lang Gym recorded a reachable total of 158/9 in their 50 overs and sent in Oakdale to chase, and Oakdale looked to wrap up the game comfortably until a dramatic collapse which saw them loosing 7 wickets and scoring only 16 runs and were 146 all out in 35 overs. 

The summarised score sheets are: 

Glenwoodhouse vs Oakdale

OAKDALE 91 all out (Japie De Villiers 26, Jaco Janse van Rensburg 19, Joshua Klue 4/25, Richard Papenfus 3/25, Cale van der Whesthuizen 2/17)

GLENWOOD 92/3 (Joshua Klue 33, Richard Papenfus 28*, Jaco Janse van Rensburg 1/32, Richard Papenfus 1/34)

Glenwood House won by 7 wickets 

Oakdale vs Langenhoven Gymnasium

LANGENHOVEN GYM 158/9 (Brandon Olivier 37, Sheldon Eksteen 26, Juan Heunis 20, JJ van Rensburg 3/20, Paul Streicher 3/26, Jeandre Rudolph 2/28)

OAKDALE 146 all out (Jandre Rudolph 47, Paul Streicher 28, P Bosch 21, Emile Titus 4/55, Chrisendo Maksella 4/4, AJ Olivier 2/30)

Langenhoven Gymnasium won by 12 runs





Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →