Annemie Smith included in SA Athletics team for Africa Championships

Annemie Smith

Caster Semenya, LJ van Zyl, Khotso Mokoena, Sunette Viljoen and Oscar Pistorius have all been included in South Africa’s team for the CAA Africa Senior Championships in Porto Novo, Benin from 27 June to 1 July 2012.

Semenya, the 2011 World Championships 800m silver medallist, has already qualified for the Olympic Games and needs to compete at the Championships as part of the selection criteria agreed on with Sascoc.

On 5 April, Semenya broke the two-minute barrier for the first time on South African soil since Zelda Pretorius ran 1:58.85 in 1991, clocking 1:59.60, her best this season.

Semenya has representedSouth Africaat only one Africa Championships in 2009 as junior athlete inBambous,Mauritius.

The event could be the last chance for Pistorius to qualify for the Olympics. He still needs one more time of 45.30 seconds or better at an international meet to be eligible for a place on the Olympic team in the 400 metres.

The double-amputee had a disappointing 47.66 to finish last at the Golden Spike inOstrava,Czech Republiclast week in his first overseas race this season. He ran 46.35 at a meet in the Netherlands on Sunday.

Van Zyl, World Championship 400m hurdles bronze medallist, became the first track and field athlete to qualify for the Olympic Games, on 5 April.

The 26-year-old from Gauteng North will be looking to win his fourth straight African title inBenin, after winning in 2006, 2008 and 2010.

2008 Olympic silver medallist Mokoena will also be looking at defending his title at the Africa Championships in the men’s long jump.

After losing his national title in windy conditions inPort Elizabeth, Mokoena bounced back and reached the Olympic Qualifying A-standard at the Yellow Pages III meeting inPretoriaon 20 April with a leap of 8.29m.

Mokoena recently competed at the Diamond League inDohaon 11 May, finishing second with 8.10m.

Viljoen currently holds theAfricaand South African record in the women’s javelin throw and has also qualified for the Olympics. /p>

The 29-year-old will be competing this year at her fifth Africa Championships, and has a brilliant track record at the event (gold in 2004, 2008, 2010 and silver in 2006).

The reigning champion won bronze in Daegu at the World Championships in September 2011 with 68.38m. Her best this season is 61.84m in Ostrava on 25 May.



Simon Magakwe (CNW – 100m, 200m)

Roscoe Engel (WPA – 100m)

Hannes Dreyer (AGN – 100m)

Anaso Jobodwana (BORA – 200m)

Thuso Mpuang (AFS – 200m)

Lebogang Moeng (ANWN – 400m)

Oscar Pistorius (AGN – 400m)

Ofentse Mogawane (ANWN – 400m)

Andre Olivier (CNW – 800m)

Mbulaeni Mulaudzi (CGA – 800m)

Rynhardt van Rensburg (AFS – 800m)

Johan Cronje (AFS – 1500m)

Juan van Deventer (CGA – 1500m)

Peter van der Westhuizen (CGA – 1500m)

Gladwin Mzazi (AGN – 5000m)

Elroy Gelant (CNW – 5000m)

Stephen Mokoka (AGN – 10 000m)

Ruben Ramolefi (ANWC – 3000m St)

TumeloMotlagale (CNW – 3000m St)

Junior Mkhatini (CGA – 110mH)

Ruan de Vries (AGN – 110mH)

Lehann Fourie (AGN – 110mH)

PC Beneke (AGN – 400m H)

LJ van Zyl (AGN – 400m H)

Eben Beukes (CGA – PV)

Heinrich Smit (WPA – PV)

Ruan van Wyk (BOLA – PV)

Ruan Claasen (CGA – HJ)

Hubert de Beer (AGN – HJ)

Khotso Mokoena (AGN – LJ)

Zarck Visser (CGA – LJ)

Thumelo Thagane (CNW – TJ)

Burger Lambrechts (AGN – SP)

Orazio Cremona (AGN – SP)

Jaco Engelbrecht (CGA – SP)

Victor Hogan(AFS – DT)

Russel Tucker (AGN – DT)

Donovan Snyman (CGA – DT)

Chris Harmse (AFS – HT)

Jason Henning (CNW – JT)

Robert Oosthuizen (BOLA – JT)

Bernard Crause (CNW – JT)

Zavion Kotze (CGA – Dec)

Willem Coertzen (CNW – Dec)

Nardus Greyling (Dec)

Marc Mundell (AGN – 20km Walk)


Tsholofelo Thipe (CNW – 200m, 400m)

Rorisang Ramonye (CNW – 400m)

Estie Wittstock (AGN – 400m)

Caster Semenya (AGN – 800m)

Mandie Brandt (CGA – 800m)

Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA – 800m, 1500m)

Lebogang Phalula (CGA – 1500m)

Lebo Phalula (CGA – 1500m)

Rene Kalmer (CGA – 5000m)

Noleen Conrad (CGA – 3000m St)

Claudia Viljoen (AGN – 100m H)

Ansulet Potgieter (AFS – 100m H)

Wenda Theron (AGN – 400m H)

Janet Lawless (BOLA – 400m H)

Anneri Ebersohn (AGN – 400mH)

Deone Joubert (AGN – PV)

Jeannie van Dyk (EPA – PV)

Juanita Stander (WPA – PV)

Anika Smit (CNW – HJ)

Bianca Erwee (CNW – HJ)

Patience Ntshingila (CNW – LJ, TJ)

Janice Josephs (BOLA – LJ)

Lynique Prinsloo (AGN – LJ)

Charlene Potgieter (AGN – TJ)

Sonia Smuts (AGN – SP)

Elizna Naude (AGN – DT)

Maryke Oberholzer (AGN – DT)

Annemie Smith (ASWD – HT)

Sunette Viljoen (ACNW – JT)

Gerlize de Klerk (ACNW – JT)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →