SWD Cricket News


Gurshin Rabie

One of the heroes of the very successful SWD cricket team the past summer and main strike bowler, Gurshwin Rabie, was crowned the SWD Player of the Season for the 2011/12 season. The SWD Cricket Board held their annual awards dinner at the Fancourt Hotel and Golf Estate on Friday evening. Rabie, with 64 wickets, bagged the most wickets in domestic first class cricket the past season, and behind Vince van der Bijl and Dale Steyn he became the third highest wicket taker in a single season in South African cricket. Rabie, who signed a two year contract with the Chevrolet Warriors for the next two seasons, was also honoured with a special merit award for represented the Chevrolet Warriors. 

The top run scorer in domestic first class cricket in the country, Christiaan Jonker (1,189 runs) and his team captain, Ross McMillan who topped the list A bowling averages in South Africa (12.42) were also honoured with special merit awards. Other merit awards recipients were Brendon Louw (represented Warriors), Marcello Piedt (SA Schools, Warriors Colts and Cubs), Kobus Scholtz (Warriors Cubs), Glenton Stuurman (Warriors Cubs), Bernadine Bezuidenhout (SA Girls U/19 for the 3rd successive year), NMMU George Cricket Club (winning the D-Section at the USSA week), Micheala Andrews (most wickets at SA Games in Polokwane), Faizel Samsoodien (CSA Panel Umpire), Jean Neethling (Umpire at CSA Teriary Week, CSA Colts and – Cubs week and CSA Club Championships), Rudi Claassen (SWD Sport Council Sport Administrator of the Year), the SWD Cricket Board (SWD Sport Council Federation of the Year) and Thembalethu Cricket Club (SWD Sport Council Resilience Award). 

Two veteran administrators, Mervyn Groenewald and Goliath Ewerts, received Lifetime Achievement Awards for their contribution, dedication and commitment towards cricket whilst five deceased who served the game in various capacities were also honoured with a Roll of Honour Award. They were Gerrit Lategan (1958-2011; played for Calitzdorp), Allan Knott-Craig (1926-2011; President of South Cape Cricket Union and Oudtshoorn Cricket Club), Jaco van Stryp (1971-2011; Umpire), Freddie Andries (1949-2012; player/administrator for Western Hope Cricket Club) and Appollis Witbooi (1964-2011; member of Ground Staff at Recreation Ground). 

Other category winners were: Alviera Nomdoe (Scorer of the Season), Trevor van der Walt (Umpire of the Season), Julius Japhta (Groundsman of the Season), Bernadine Bezuidenhout (Girls Cricketer of the Season), Josua Klue (Primary Schools Cricketer of the Season), Marcello Piedt (High Schools Cricketer of the Season), Haward Koeries (Disabled Cricketer of the Season), Annemie Koen (SWD Women’s Player of the Season), Monique Booysen (Player of the Season; Women’s League), Eugene Piedt (Player of the Season; Reserve League), Kurt Fourie (Player of the Season; Promotion Leauge) and Erinn Ewerts (Player of the Season; Premier League). The SWD senior team, coached by Garry Hampson, received the trophy as SWD representative team of the season for finished 3rd in the CSA Provincial Challenge competition. 

In his presidential address, Mr Rudi Claassen, the president of the SWD Cricket Board highlight the performance by the SWD senior team, the award of conditional affiliate status to the SWD Cricket Board and the construction of new facilities at the Recreation Ground as the outstanding achievements for the season. 



The SWD Cricket Board will host the annual USSA B week in Oudtshoorn and George over the period 26-30 November 2012 this year. During a recent planning visit and meeting were (back row): John Wright (Tournament Director), Hugo Loubser (Sport Officer NMMU George Campus Sport Bureau), Maxwell Jordaan (Manager Amateur Cricket CSA) and Albertus Kennedy (CEO SWD Cricket). Front Row: Johan Weyers (Amateur Manager SWD Cricket), Riaan Osmond (Chairperson USSA cricket) and Rudi Claassen (President SWD Cricket Board).



Kempston Motors recently handed-over a sponsored vehicle for the use of the coaching and development program of the South Western Districts Cricket Board. During the handing over ceremony were Garry Hampson (Coaching Manager SWD Cricket), Patrick Price (Principle Dealer, Kempston, George), Rudi Claassen (President SWD Cricket Board), Albertus Kennedy (CEO SWD Cricket) and Peet Neethling (Sales Manager, Kempston, George).
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →