SWD Cricket News


A SWD Invitation XI recorded a resounding 7 wicket victory against the Madhya Pradesh U/22 touring side from India. The three day touring match was played at the Military Sport Club in Oudtshoorn last week. The limited-over match, that was scheduled for Friday, was rained-out completely. The Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association, is like SWD a first class team from India. 

Madhya Pradesh was dismissed for 179 runs in their first innings with Reece Williams (2/42), Phabhama Fojela (2/11) and Douglas Baartman (3/17) the most successful SWD bowlers. SWD responded with 201 (all out) to ensure a valuable first innings lead of 22 runs. Adrian McLaren (29), Christiaan Jonker (36) and Waldo Lategan (60) was the most impressive batsmen for the home team. 

A fine bowling display by Marcello Piedt (3/29) and Baartman (3/24) restricted Madhya Pradesh to only 99 runs in their second inning. SWD, thanks to solid contributions from Luthando Mnyanda (21), Ross McMillan (26) and Lategan (29) reached the winning target (83/3) with 7 wickets in hand. 

Mr Narendra Dua (3rd from the right), team manager of the visiting Madhya Pradesh touring team, handed-over a souvenir trophy to Albertus Kennedy (CEO) of SWD Cricket upon completion of the friendly fixture that was played in Oudtshoorn. From the left are: Manoj Singh (captain of Madhya Pradesh), Manish Majithia (coach), Amay Khursayia (coach) and the SWD captain, Ross McMillan.


The SWD Cricket Board recently hosted the CSA Academies tournament for southern provinces in Oudtshoorn. Mr Maxwell Jordaan, Manager Amateur Cricket, had a session with the various coaches during event. Present were: Back Row: Roger Telemachus (Boland), Garry Hampson (SWD), Faiek Davids (Western Province), Mfuneko Ngam (Fort Hare), Siviwe Gidana (Eastern Province), Loyiso Langa (Fort Hare), Andre du Plessis (Eastern Province) and Frank Plaatjies (Border). Front Row: Shukri Conrad (CSA Talent scout), Albertus Kennedy (CEO SWD Cricket), Mr Jordaan, Greg Hayes (CSA High Performance Consultant), Loyiso Sibaca and Christo Esau (Eastern Province)


2 October 2012

The SWD Cricket Board premier league competition for the 2012/13 season will kick-off this weekend. Defending champions, Union Stars, who will be captained by Pieter Stuurman, takes on Sussex at the Bridgton Sport Grounds. Dougie Baartman, Waldo Lategan, Justin Jordaan and Merlin Masimela will be key players for the Bridgton based team whilst Sussex will be boosted by the services Sammy-Joe Avontuur and Erinn Ewerts. George will have the services of Adrian McLaren, Glen Addicot and Ross McMillan ad will take on Mossel Bay at the Van Riebeeck Stadium. The home side, withChristovan Schalkwyk and Wimpie Louw in their midst will offer strong resistance. In the Promotion League all eyes will be on NMMU who will try to improve on their performances from last season. 

The fixtures for the weekend are: 


Premier League: Mossel Bay vs George, Union Stars vs Sussex

Promotion League: NMMU vs Melkhoutfontein, Pioneers vs Blanco, Heidelberg United vs Albertinia, Kranshoek Cobra’s vs Knysna Cavaliers, Mayflower vs Riversdale, Ladismith vs Selbourne, Thembalethu vs Dysselsdorp and Western Hope vs Calitzdorp

Reserve League: George B vs Bongolethu B, Pirates United B vs Thembalethu B 


Promotion League: NMMU vs Ladismith

Reserve League: Union Stars C vs Mossel Bay B 


2 October 2012

In preparation for a CSA Regional Twenty20 series that will be played in Cape Town this weekend the SWD Cricket Board presented a series of T20 matches for the SWD regional teams on Saturday. The SWD, Western Province and Boland will participate in this triangular tournament. 

Oudtshoorn was the only undefeated team on the day when they beat George by 1 wicket in a nail-biting encounter. 

The summarized results are: 

Oudtshoorn vs Hessequa

OUDTSHOORN 229/1 (Michelle Africa 102*, Micaela Andrews 77, Carina Crause 17*, A.Joseph 1/32)

HESSEQUA 27 (Kayla Booysen 3/2, Jane Winster 2/5)

Oudtshoorn won by 202 runs 

Hessequa vs George

HESSEQUA 69 (Anja Steyn 20)

GEORGE 71/0 (Bernadine Bezuidenhout 51*, Sonet Esterhuizen 14*)

George won by 10 wickets 

George vs Oudtshoorn

GEORGE 157/4 (Bernadine Bezuidenhout 63, Sonet Fourie 39*,Sonet Esterhuizen 31, Carina Crause 2/43)

OUDTSHOORN 158/9 (Carina Crause 34, Jane Winster 26, L.Gerber 3/32, Sonet Fourie 2/25)

Oudtshoorn won by 1 wicket 

The final team for the triangular tournament will be selected from the following squad:

Gail Abrahams, Micaela Andrews, Bernadine Bezuidenhoudt, Kayla Booysen, Monique Booysen, Carina Crause, Sonet Fourie, Berenice Goliath, Thalita Johnson, Annemie Koen, Mochelle May, Elzaan Pietersen, Kaylene Pypers, Yolandi Saayman, Marnezelle Rabie, Ezrin van Aswegen, Janet Winster. 


Phase 2 – The construction of dressing rooms – adjacent to the existing structure – at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn, which started in May 2012 and is approaching completion. The National Lotteries Board and SA Sports Trust provided financial support for this project. Phase 1 included the construction of a new office complex and was made possible via funding (R2,7 million) from the National Lotteries Board. Phase 1 – the construction of a Club House, President Suite and Offices was completed in October 2012. The construction contract was awarded to Henk Harmse Wonings CC with Johan Smith Architects as advisory consultant and architect for the project.
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →