SWD Cricket News

Golf Day

The SWD Cricket Board recently held its annual golf day at the Mossel Bay Golf Club. Boetie Swanepoel (centre) was the winner of the individual stableford competition with 42 points. On picture he receives the winning prize from John Komanisi (vice-president of the SWDCB). On the right is the SWDCB CEO Albertus Kennedy. Marais Pelser (38 points) was second followed by Desmond Malgas (36), Arno Blom (35) and Mike van Niekerk (35). Kalla Briesies won the prize for the nearest to the pin on the 12th and Warren Malgas that for the longest drive on the 3rd.

South Western Districts v Eastern Province – CSA Provincial One-Day Competition, 2012/13 – Match Update – South Western Districts win by 50 runs

A solid batting performance, followed by a 4-wicket haul from Phaphama Fojela, enabled the South Western Districts to secure a comprehensive 50-run win over the Eastern Province during the ongoing CSA Provincial One-Day Competition, in their list A match played on November 18 at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn.

The South Western Districts commenced the match on their own terms, after winning the toss and choosing to bat first. Their batsmen were hampered somewhat by Lyall Meyer (10-0-48-2) and Sisonda Magala (9-0-73-2), but managed to make their way up to a substantial total of 309 by the end of 50 overs.

The opening partnership between Christiaan Jonker (10) and Adrian McLaren (42) yielded 34 runs, after which the former fell prey to Magala in the 5th over. Skipper Ross McMillan, however, kept the innings going with a 36-run contribution, and also managed to set up a 62-run stand with McLaren.

McLaren was eventually bowled by Meyer, and followed back to the pavilion swiftly by McMillan, who was run out by David White. Luthando Mnyanda (34) and Glen Addicott (who top-scored for the team with 82), however, kept the team moving forward with a 73-run fourth-wicket stand.

Mnyanda was snapped up by Akhona Kula in the 35th over, but Addicott went on to set up another substantial partnership – this time a 96-run stand with wicketkeeper batsman Waldo Lategan (44*). Their combined efforts got South Western Districts up to 271, after which Addicott was finally dislodged by Meyer.

Lategan, however, saw the rest of the innings through, and aided by Pieter Stuurman (8) and Brendon Louw (15*), got the team up to a final total of 309, at the expense of 6 wickets.

The South Western Districts then went on to launch an effective defence of their total, led by Fojela (8.2-0-49-4), with Kobus Scholtz (9-0-40-2) chipping in as a supporting act. Most of the Eastern Province batsmen managed to get starts, but were unable to convert them into substantial scores.

Kelly Smuts top-scored for the team with 71, while White (36) and Magala (36) contributed a fair few runs. Arno Jacobs (28) and Warren Bell (27) were the only other batsmen who managed to put up a fight – the rest fell without offering any resistance. By the 48th over, Eastern Province were all out at 259, and the South Western Districts went on to secure a comfortable 50-run win.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →