Gelant and Phalula to lead Cross Country team in Lesotho

asaMonday, 28 January 2013 – Trial winners Elroy Gelant and Lebo Phalula have both been included in a 27 member team to represent South Africa at the CAA Southern Region Cross Country Championships taking place in Maseru on 2 March 2013. 

The first six positions obtained at the trials on Saturday, 26 January 2013 in Boksburg automatically qualified for inclusion in the team, but Athletics South Africa has announced three wild card entries based on performance at the SA Cross Country Championships that took place in Amanzimtoti in September 2012. 

Gladwin Mzazi  (senior men), Lorraine Novela (senior women) and Thabang Nkuna (junior men) have been selected as wild card entries and will join a team with athletes such as Kgosi Tsosane, Lucky Mohale, Nolene Conrad, Lebo Phalula, Mapaseka Makhanya, Tumisang Monnatlala and Olivia Labuschagne to name a few. 

Performances at the Southern Region Cross Country Championships in Lesotho will play a very important role in team selection for the World Cross Country Championships in Poland on 24 March 2013, as only the first three positions from the Cross Country Trials will have an automatic spot in this team.  

The full team:

Senior Men (12 Km):

Elroy Gelant ACNW
David Manja ACNW
Lungisa Mdedelwa KZNA
Lucky Mohale CGA
Desmond Mokgobu CGA
Gladwin Mzazi AGN
Kgosi Tsosane AGN

Senior Women (8 Km):

Nolene Conrad CGA
Christine Kalmer CGA
Rosalyn Laurens AGN
Mpho Mabuza CGA
Mapaseka Makhanya CGA
Lorraine Novela CGA
Lebo Phalula CGA

Junior Men (8 Km):

Creel Chavalala CGA
Adam Lipschitz KZNA
Rantso Mekopane ACNW
Sello Mokwena CGA
Tumisang Monnatlala CGA
Thabang Mosiako ACNW
Thabang Nkuna LIMA

Junior Women (6 Km):

Annie Bothma WPA
Nonhlanhla Dlamini CGA
Zandile Hadebe CGA
Olivia Labuschagne AGN
Thandeka Manzana AGN
Glenrose Xaba LIMA
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →