Replacing structures of the past – 50 schools to receive building upgrades

Donald Grant
Donald Grant

In September 2012, I announced details of the Western Cape Education Department’s new infrastructure plan for the 2013/14 -2015/16 period.

The plan includes, amongst other things, the building of 46 replacement schools and the roll-out of 4 replacement classroom projects within a three year period.  (Please note that a further 26 new schools will also be built under this plan.)

Today, I am announcing the names of the 50 schools that will be upgraded through the school replacement programme.

Using our Geographic Information System (GIS) and information obtained from the Districts, we were able to ascertain which school buildings were in dire need of replacement.

Replacing a school essentially means replacing with new brick and mortar structures old school buildings originally built with inappropriate materials.

In most instances, the old structures are made from wooden or prefabricated materials and were generally built during the apartheid era.

Replacing inappropriate structures requires building a new school on the existing school property. In some projects, the new structure is built adjacent to the old structure so that the learners may continue to use the premises of the old school while the building of the new structure is underway.

In other instances, the provision of alternative accommodation (such as mobile units) is required for learners during the building process. The old inappropriate structures are torn down to make way for the new building.

Each replacement school will typically include all modern day school features such as a media centre/library, laboratories, feeding kitchens, computer facilities and workshops where necessary.

It is an exciting initiative that will ultimately benefit approximately 50 000 learners who will be able to learn in environments that are safer, bigger and more conducive to quality teaching and learning.

The distribution of replacement schools in each district that will benefit from this plan is as follows:



No. of replacement


CapeWinelands          2
Overberg          5
Eden and Central Karoo          5
West Coast          5
Metro Central          9
Metro East          4
Metro North         10
Metro South          6
Total:         46

There are also four replacement classroom projects that will be implemented during the three year period. These projects entail the replacement of certain sections of schools that are deemed inappropriate or potentially unsafe.

The classroom projects are situated in the following four districts:



No. of replacement classroom projects
Metro North          2
Metro Central          1
CapeWinelands          1
Total:          4

The replacement schools and replacement classroom projects will be funded partly through the WCED’s infrastructure budget and partly through the Accelerated School Infrastructure Development Initiative (ASIDI) programme.

The 46 replacement schools are as follows:

  Name of school District Area
1 ACJ Phakade PS Metro East Strand
2 Bottelary PS Metro South Brackenfell
3 Bonnievale PS CapeWinelands Bonnievale
4 Buck Road HS Metro South LotusRiver
5 Chatsworth PS West Coast Swartland
6 Delft South PS Metro North Delft
7 Delta PS Metro South Steenberg
8 Diaz PS Eden/Karoo Mosselbay
9 Die Duine PS Metro South Lotusrivier
10 Du Noon PS Metro North Milnerton
11 Formosa PS Eden/Karoo Plettenbergbay
12 Umyezo Wama Apile PS Overberg Theewaterskloof
13 Hawston PS Overberg Hawston
14 Hazendal PS Metro Central Athlone
15 Heideveld PS Metro Central Heideveld
16 Itsitsa PS Metro North Mfuleni
17 Kasselsvlei PS Metro North Bellville
18 Kathleen Murray PS Overberg Theewaterskloof
19 Kensington Sec Metro Central Kensington
20 Klipheuwel PS Metro North Klipheuwel
21 Knysna Sec Eden/Karoo Hornlee
22 Kuilsrivier PS Metro East Kuilsrivier
23 MountView Sec Metro Central Hanover Park
24 Paccaltsdorp PS Eden/Karoo Pacaltsdorp
25 Parkview PS Metro North Reygersdal
26 Pineview PS Overberg Grabouw
27 Portia PS Metro Central Lansdowne
28 Red River PS Metro Central Manenberg
29 Rheenendal PS Eden/Karoo Knysna
30 Rosewood PS Metro Central Bonteheuwel
31 Rusthof PS Metro East Strand
32 Scottsdene Sec Metro East Kraaifontein
33 Silverstream PS Metro Central Manenberg
34 Sophakama PS Metro North Table View
35 Sophumelela Sec Metro South Samora Machel
36 ST Thomas PS West Coast Malmesbury
37 Steynville PS West Coast Bergrivier Piketberg
38 Swartberg Sec Overberg Caledon
39 Tygersig PS Metro North Uitsig
40 Valhalla PS Metro North Elsiesrivier
41 Voorspoed PS Metro Central Kenwyn
42 Vooruitsig PS West Coast Darling
43 Wes-Eind PS CapeWinelands Franschhoek
44 Wesfleur PS Metro North Dassenberg
45 Willemsvallei PS West Coast Porterville
46 Zeekoevlei PS Metro South LotusRiver

The 4 replacement classroom projects are situated in the following areas:

  Name of school District Area      
1 Bloekombos PS Metro North Kraaifontein
2 Garden Village PS Metro Central Maitland
3 Nalikamva PS Metro North Mfuleni
4 Waveren SS CapeWinelands Tulbagh
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →