Dan Patlansky launches first acoustic album “Wooden Thoughts”

dan-patlanskyDan Patlansky has been described as a “conglomerate of charisma, charm and musical genius” and he’s back with his first acoustic album Wooden Thoughts, to be released at a concert in Kirstenbosch Gardens in Cape Town on March 21.

Wooden Thoughts follows 20 Stones, released to critical acclaim last year, and is rooted in the blues with influences of country, bluegrass, world music and traditional Indian melodies.

It’s an album that Patlansky has aspired to do for a long time: “I’ve always wanted to do an acoustic album but finally decided to do it following my successful unplugged tour last year. I realised there was a demand for it. As a musician, it allows you to play something different and it is less flashy. It also lends itself to a wide range of genres that allowed me to stretch myself,” he explains.

On Wooden Thoughts Patlansky sings and plays acoustic guitar, slide guitar , Dobro and the mandolin. He is joined by Clint Falconer on bass and Andy Maritz on Cajon. Wendy Oldfield does backing vocals on the track Miss Oowee as well as on The Weight.

Patlansky, who produced the album himself, is delighted that it was recorded in the Knysna forest by Howard Butcher – a specialist recorder who has produced among others Guy Buttery, Steve Newman and Nibs van der Spuy.

20 Stones was voted one of the Top 20 blues albums in the world; Daddy’s Old Gun was nominated as one of the top singles for 2012 by Rolling Stone SA,  and Patlanksy is hoping that this new album will also make waves and do as well. Dan will be undertaking an extensive tour throughout South Africa as well as performing in Europethis year including a performance at the Denmark Blues Festival.

Track listing:

(Original tracks)

  • Miss Oowee – As a blues artist this songs stays within the traditional genre; it is old school with great lyrical content. I chose Wendy Oldfield to perform backing vocals on this as her voice is colourful and suited it perfectly.
  • Big ThingsGoing Down- Recorded before on his previous album, the lyrics moveDan’s soul – it is slow blues and every album needs this in his view.
  • Bring the World to its Knees–An acoustic version of 20 Stones. It’s about frustration and being impatient.
  • Kwazi–This is inspired by a traditional Indian sound with its wonderful melodies.
  • Kaynin– Bass player Clint,inspired by the birth of his son, wrote this for him.


  • Preaching Blues
  • Wagon Wheel–The chorus features Bob Dylan and was mixed by Theo Crous.
  • Hallelujah
  • Bright Lights, Big City
  • The Weight 
  • Kashmere

Dan Patlansky March Tour Dates: 

21-Mar  Cape Town Kirstenbosch – launch of album

28-Mar  Bloemfontein

29-Mar  Welkom

31-Mar   Splashy Fen

Biography Dan Patlansky:

In only a little over a decade on the music scene, Dan Patlansky has become one of the busiest and most respected blues artists to ever come out of South Africa.

After his debut, Standing at the Station,  an independent album that amazed critics and garnered Dan a reputation as  a Blues-phenomenon and his subsequent “Readers Choice” vote as “Best Blues Guitarist in Southern Africa” – Dan released a second album, True Blueswhich was produced and released by EMI on the famed Blue Note label in 2004. Dan is one of the only South Africans to ever achieve “Blue Note” status.

In 2006 Fender Guitars recognised Dan’s fiery playing and offered him an endorsement deal to promote Fender Guitars and amps. Dan is one of only six Fender endorsed guitarists in South Africa.

In February 2005 and again in July 2006, Selwyn Miller, New Orleans based manager of David Gates and Bread, Randy Crawford, and Petula Clark amongst others, brought Dan to New Orleans to showcase this amazing talent.

In his time living in the city of the Blues, Patlansky performed at legendary venues such as Maple Leaf, Rock & Bowl and Checkpoint Charlie with many Blues giants such as Henry Gray (Howlin’ Wolf’s Pianist), Snooks Eaglin, The Batiste Family and Rockin Dopsie Jr. While abroad, Dan performed live on both television and radio.

Dan followed his first two albums with three more releases Real (2007), Move My Soul (2009) and 20 Stones (2012). His latest album Wooden Thoughts will be released in 2013.

He continues to perform all over South Africa and internationally in the company of world-renowned musicians. 

Online Links:

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →