Alshaun Bock nominated for First Division Player of the Year

Alshaun Bock
Alshaun Bock

The shortlists for the 2013 South African rugby awards have been announced, with the Pumas nominated in four different categories.

Five key members of the Springbok squad in 2013 will go head-to-head for the annual SA Rugby Player of the Year Award, while the Pumas have been rewarded for their great form this season with their quartet of nominations.

Springbok captain Jean de Villiers, the winner in 2008 who led South Africa to 10 victories in 12 Tests in 2013, will go up against Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux and Duane Vermeulen for the most prestigious individual award in South African rugby.

Etzebeth is also nominated in the category of Young Player of the Year, where he will face stiff competition from fellow Springboks Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi and Jan Serfontein, as well as the fleet-footed Springbok Sevens and SA Under-20 star Cheslin Kolbe.

The award for Coach of the Year is a straight three-sided shoot-out between Heyneke Meyer, Jimmy Stonehouse and Brendan Venter while the teams they respectively coached in 2013 – the Springboks, the Pumas (Stonehouse also coached the SA President’s XV to victory in the IRB Tbilisi Cup) and the Sharks’ Currie Cup side – are the three nominations for Team of the Year.

Pumas try-scoring ace Rosco Speckman has been nominated in two categories – Vodacom Cup and First Division Player of the Year – meaning the Mpumalanga Rugby Union, winners of the First Division and Vodacom Cup runners-up, has capped a great season with a total of four nominations.

Le Roux, Vermeulen or Adriaan Strauss will be named Super Rugby Player of the Year.

Seven players were nominated in two categories. They are Etzebeth, Le Roux, Vermeulen, Speckman, Kolbe (Young Player and Currie Cup Player of the Year), Seabelo Senatla (SA U20 and SA Sevens Player of the Year) and Fred Zeilinga (Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup Player of the Year).

“We’ve included various important stakeholders, including the media, public, administrators and the provincial and franchise coaches, in the voting process,” said SARU CEO Jurie Roux.

“The coaches play a vital role in the success of a team, so it is pleasing to see them involved in the voting process yet again. I think the nominees in the various categories are a fair reflection of what has been a very good year for South African rugby.

“Looking at the votes we got from the public, it is clear that our fans know their rugby. All the categories were hotly contested and I would like to wish the various nominees good luck for the awards.”

The nominations for the Try of the Year Award will be finalised early in 2014 and the winners will be named at a function at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on 12 February next year.

All the nominations for 2013:

Saru Player of the Year:

1 Jean de Villiers

2 Bismarck du Plessis

3 Eben Etzebeth

4 Willie le Roux

5 Duane Vermeulen

Young Player of the Year:

1 Pieter-Steph du Toit

2 Eben Etzebeth

3 Cheslin Kolbe

4 Siya Kolisi

5 Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year:

1 Pumas (Vodacom Cup, First Division)

2 Sharks (Currie Cup)

3 Springboks

Coach of the Year:

1 Heyneke Meyer (Springboks)

2 Jimmy Stonehouse (Pumas)

3 Brendan Venter (Sharks Currie Cup)

SA U20 Player of the Year:

1 Jacques du Plessis

2 Cheslin Kolbe

3 Seabelo Senatla

SA Sevens Player of the Year:

1 Cornal Hendricks

2 Frankie Horne

3 Seabelo Senatla

Super Rugby Player of Year:

1 Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)

2 Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs)

3 Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:

1 Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions)

2 Rosco Speckman (Pumas)

3 Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV)

Currie Cup Player of the Year:

1 Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province)

2 Scarra Ntubeni (Western Province)

3 Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)

First Division Player of the Year:

1 Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles)

2 Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings)

3 Rosco Speckman (Pumas)

* Other awards that will be presented are in the categories of SARPA Players’ Player of the Year, Try of the Year, Craven Week Player of the Year, Referee Award, Women’s Player of the Year and Community Cup Player of the Tournament.

Source:  I Africa Sport

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →