SWD Cricket Board Sedgars Twenty20 competition crowned on Monday

swd-150x150The winners of the SWD Cricket Board Sedgars Twenty20 competition will be crowned on Monday when the semi-final’s and final’s will be contested at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn. The SWDCB moved the semi-final’s and final from Sunday to Monday due to the state funeral of former President, Nelson Mandela, that will be held on Sunday.

The top eight teams, who advanced from the pool phases, will play in the quarter final knock-out matches which will take place on Saturday. The match at the Van Riebeeck Stadium between Mossel Bay and Pacaltsdorp promises to be cliff hanger whilst a place for a promotion league team in the top four is guaranteed when Thembalethu and Knysna Cavaliers will play each other at Thembalethu. The defending champions, Sussex will travel to Knysna where they will take on Pirates United in the third semi-final. Union Stars, with the services of all their provincial players, is the favourites to win the competition. They will take on Mayflower in the fourth quarter final match.

The winner of the competition will receive a cash prize of R7,000.

The fixtures for Saturday are:

T20 Competition – Quarter Finals

Mossel Bay vs Pacaltsdorp, Union Stars vs Mayflower, Thembalethu vs Knysna, Pirates vs Sussex

Semi-Finals and Finals will take place on Monday, 16 December 2013

Reserve League

Pacaltsdorp B vs Pirates B

Women’s League

Mossel Bay vs Hessequa

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →