SWD senior cricket team desperate for a win

The SWD senior cricket team will desperate to improve with their performances in the second half of the season after they missed-out on winning the CSA Limited over competition in December. A tough task is awaiting the team as the travel to Port Elizabeth this weekend where they will take on the strong team of Eastern Province at AXXESS St George Park, starting on Thursday.

Glen Addicot back in the SWD team after an injury.
Glen Addicot back in the SWD team after an injury.

In the three day competition the team of Ross McMillan is currently in 10th position (out of 14) at 55.98 bonus points after seven matches in which they only recorded two outright victories. The strong team of North West is the log leaders at 109.46 points after 8 matches. Adrian McLaren (16th at a batting average of 39.22) and Waldo Lategan (18th at a batting average of 37.60) are the only two players that are currently in the top averages. In the past two seasons SWD was a reckoned force in the three day competition.

Eastern Province, who won 3 of their 8 games are at 79.42 points but they do have players who are on form in their line-up. Sishanda Magala (29 wickets) are currently the top wicket-taker in the competition whilst Colin Ackerman is in good form with the bat.

Both Gurshwin Rabie, SWD’s main strike bowler and wicket/keeper batsman, Brendon Louw, were included in the SWD team whilst Glen Addicot also recovered from injury. Bad news for Oudtshoorn based team is that Lonwabo Rodolo again injured his ankle and he will be side-lined for another six weeks. Rabie’s bowling partner, Marcello Piedt, who hurt his shoulder in a club match during the weekend is also a doubtful starter but he is with the team in Port Elizabeth and will undergo a fitness test on Thursday morning. Adrian McLaren is suspended for the three day match.

The SWD will be hoping for some silverware with their CSA T20 competition that will kick-off on Sunday.

The SWD team for the Three Day match is: Ross McMillan (capt), Waldo Lategan, Luthando Mnyanda, Glen Addicot, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Pieter Stuurman, Brendon Louw, Marcello Piedt/Gareth Dukes, Douglas Baartman, Lyndon Volkwyn and Gurshwin Rabie. McLaren will be added to the squad for Sunday’s T20 match.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →