SWD Cricket annual awards dinner

The SWD captain, Ross McMillan, who was the top run scorer in the Cricket South Africa Twenty20 competition the past season and SWD’s top performer both as batsman and bowler in the CSA One Day Competition was awarded with the Standard Bank trophy as player of the season during the SWD Cricket Board Annual Awards function that was held at the Surval Boutique Olive Estate near Oudtshoorn on Friday evening.  The versatile McMillan also won this award in the 2010/11 season.

Ross McMillan, received the Standard Bank Trophy, as player of the Season from Mr Rudy Claassen (President SWD Cricket Board)
Ross McMillan, received the Standard Bank Trophy, as player of the Season from Mr Rudy Claassen (President SWD Cricket Board)

The various league winners – NMMU (Premier League), Blanco (Promotion League), Union Stars B (Reserve League), Union Stars (Twenty20 competition) and Oudthoorn (Women’s League) received their trophies whilst the outstanding performers in the league completion were also honoured.  Hanno Kotze, who was the top runs scorer and a member of the NMMU winning team was the Premier League player of the season whilst Ethan Coeries (Blanco Cricket Club) and Brendon Louw (Union StarsO who recorded similar achievements in the Promotion and Twenty20 league was awarded as the Promotion League and Twenty20 league player of the season.  André Olivier (Union Stars) who was the most successful batsman and bowler in the Reserve League was the Player of the season in this league.  Heroldine Rhodes was the player of the season in the Women’s League.

Richard Maree, who was selected for the SA Colts team was the High Schools Player of the Season whilst the versatile Brian Jack was the Primary Schools Players of the season.  Other category award winners were Thashwill Julies (Scorer of the Season), James Phillips (Umpire of the Season), Japhtha Julies (Bridgton Sport Ground – Groundsman of the Season), Jody Jansen (Player of the Season; Players with Disabilities),  Henzelo Makriga (LSEN Player of the Season) and Miceala Andrews (Girls u/19 player of the season and SWD Senior Women’s player of the season).

The NMMU Cricket Club of George who won the Premier League after they were promoted at the beginning of the season as well as the C-Competition of the USSA week was awarded with the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy.

Three members that passed away during the past year – Vernon Rothman (former SWD administrator, player and selector), Clive Ferrendale (coach of Pioneers cricket club) and Leon Hurling who played a significant role in the establishment of cricket in Heidelberg – were all honoured with a roll of honour award.

Pieter Stuurman, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Ross McMillan, Annemie Koen, Marnizelle Rabie and Julandi Saaiman – all who played 50 or more matches for SWD – were awarded with a Special Merit Award as well as Adrian McLaren who played more than 100 first class and Limited over matches in his career.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →