Union Stars crowned T20 champions

Union Stars on Saturday won their first trophy for the 2014-15 season and in the process successfully defended their Twenty20 crown as champions of South Western Districts Cricket. The Bridgton based club defeated Mossel Bay by 57 runs after the two finalists qualified for the final after convincing victories in the semi-final’s.


Mossel Bay (56/3) recorded an unexpected overwhelming victory over the NMMU Madibaz – who was dismissed for only 55 runs – when they defeated the students by 7 wickets. Union Stars (40/1) gave their neighbours, Western Hope, a cricket lesson when they bowled them out for only 38.


In the final, Union Stars, courtesy of an undefeated innings by Brendon Louw (56*; 25 balls, 6×6, 1×4) posted 173/5 and restricted Mossel Bay to 116/8 to retain the trophy with a victory of 57 runs.

The summarized score sheets are:


NMMU Madibaz vs Mossel Bay
NMMU 55 (Stefan Terblance 3/14, Jaco Vorster 2/3, Shane Smith 2/6)
MOSSEL BAY 56/3 (Sammy Joe Avontuur 20*) Mossel Bay won by 7 wickets

Western Hope vs Union Stars
WESTERN HOPE 38 (Justin Jordaan 3/4, Douglas Baartman 2/7,
Marcello Piedt 2/10) UNION STARS 40/1 (Pieter Stuurman 13*, Chrizendo Maksella 11*) Union Stars won by 9 wickets


Union Stars vs Mossel Bay
UNION STARS 173/5 (Brendon Louw 56*, Jean Heunis 30, Leroi Bredenkamp 29, Shane Smith 2/26) MOSSEL BAY 116/8 (Sammy Joe Avontuur 41, Drikus Visagie 31, Gurshwin Rabie 3/17, Otniel Baartman 2/7)
Union Stars won by 57 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →