Sedgars SWD Cricket League results

Unions Stars B win Reserve League Championships

The former SWD player, André Olivier, with a match winning century (102; 104 balls, 11×4) secured Union Stars B a third consecutive title as the Reserve League Champions of the SWD. The 29 year old Olivier, who represented SWD in 11 first class matches, was the hero in the final that was played at the REC in Oudtshoorn as Union Stars walked away with a five wicket victory.

Mossel Bay posted a competitive total of 239 runs (48.3 overs) thanks to a fine innings by Jacques Theron (54). Union Stars, in reply, batted with great composure to reach the target after 44.5 overs. Emile Titus (44) and Charles Willemse (37) played a vital support role with the bat to secure the victory.

Union Stars B vs Mossel Bay B
MOSSEL BAY 239 (Jacques Theron 54, Frikkie Theron 45, Francios Cilliers 42, Sheldon Eksteen 4/33, Anver Venter 3/57, Hershell Amerika 2/44)
UNION STARS 243/5 (Andre Olivier 102, Emile Titus 44, Charles Willemse 37, Jacobus Swanepoel 2/50) Union Stars B won by 5 wickets.

André Olivier
André Olivier

Premier League Results

Although rain had the final say in four of the matches in the Sedgars SWD Premier League during the weekend six matches were eventually played with Union Stars still the only unbeaten side and topping the log position (60 points – 14 matches). Union Stars (95/3) defeated Pirates United (92 all out) by 7 wickets to record a bonus point victory.

Mossel Bay recorded two outright victories to boost their hopes for a place in the semi-finals. On Saturday, after scoring 139 in a match that was reduced to 28 overs) they defeated Sussex (35 all out) by 104 runs and on Sunday they posted 188 to beat George (153 all out) by 35 runs. Pacaltsdorp United (127/5 – batting second) – claimed an important but surprised victory of 27 runs against the defending champions NMMU (142 all out) after the match was reduced to 35 overs when the Duckworth/Lewis formula was introduced.

Lonwabo Rodolo (6/10) and Siyabonga Booi (4/17) were both in destructive form for Harlequins (43/1) when they dismissed Sussex for only 41 runs in an impressive nine wicket victory. Blanco (93/4) got their noses in front of Thembalethu (92 all out) with a 6 wicket victory.

The results are:

George vs Pacaltsdorp
Match abandoned

Thembalethu vs NMMU
Match abandoned

Blanco vs Union Stars
Match abandoned

Pirates United vs Harlequins
Match abandoned

Mossel Bay vs Sussex
MOSSEL BAY 139 (Sammy Joe Avontuur 50, Christopher van Schalkwyk 20,
Jonathan Blom 2/19, Jermaine Jeonna 2/33) SUSSEX 35 (Reavan Plaatjies 16, Christopher van Schalkwyk 5/18, Erin Ewerts 3/1) Mossel Bay won 104 runs

Union Stars vs Pirates United
PIRATES UNITED 92 (Reginald Donson 24, Glenton Stuurman 5/24,
Marcello Piedt 4/12) UNION STARS 95/3 (Glenton Stuurman 31*,
Waldo Lategan 19*, Bronwill Goede 3/24)
Union Stars won by 7 wickets

George vs Mossel Bay
MOSSEL BAY 188 (Siya Simetu 68, Ricky Lessing 29, Shaun Ferreira 24, Franco Geldenhuis 4/28, Charl Pretorius 2/24, Glenn Hockley 2/27)
GEORGE 153 (Johandre Barnard 32, Charl Pretorius 24, Shane Smith 4/41) Mossel Bay won by 35 runs

Harlequins vs Sussex
SUSSEX 41 (Lonwabo Rodolo 6/10, Siya Booi 4/17) HARLEQUINS 43/1 (Envirino Swartz 23*, Craig Thanna 1/26) Harlequins won by 9 wickets

Thembalethu vs Blanco
THEMBALETHU 92 (Ayabonga Kitshini 21, Lance Roelfse 5/21, Ethan Coeries 3/12, Granville Koeries 2/17) BLANCO 93/4 (Ethan Coeries 30, Jeanique Williams 30, Andre Mlando 2/43) Blanco won by 6 wickets

NMMU vs Pacaltsdorp
NMMU 142 (Ross Mc Millan 52, Niel Hornbuckle 37, Robin Hector 5/28,
Adrian Rhodes 2/15) PACALTSDORP 127/5 (Nathan Rhodes 23, Daniel Koert 33, Danvor Muller 26, Coenie Nel 2/26, Niel Hornbuckle 2/30)
Pacaltsdorp won by 27 runs on D/L method

Promotion League Results

Western Hope, Riversdale and Ramblers on Saturday, confirmed their position as winners of the respective pools in the Sedgars SWD Promotion league and in the process qualified for the semi-final’s.

Western Hope (129/1) retained their unbeaten status after a comprehensive 9 wicket victory against Selbourne (126 all out). Although Ramblers (275 all out) lost by 58 runs against Kranshoek Cobra’s (333 all out) they remain in the top position of Pool C. Heidelberg United (188/2) however kept their hope for a place as the fourth qualifier alive after an eight wicket victory against Albertinia (186 all out). The match between Ladismith and Bongolethu was tied with both teams scored 210.

Western Hope vs Selbourne
Western Hope won by 9 wickets

Ladismith vs Bongolethu
Match tied

Dysselsdorp vs Calitzdorp
Calitzdorp won by 215 runs

Riversdale vs Slangrivier
Riversdale won by 126 runs

Heidelberg vs Albertinia
Heidelberg won by 8 wickets

Kranshoek Cobra’s vs Ramblers
Kranshoek Cobra’s won by 58 runs

Knysna Cavaliers vs Pioneers
Pioneers won by 59 runs

Melkhoutfontein vs Albertinia
Melkhoutfontein won by 156 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →