Preview Sedgars SWD Premier League final

The Petersen Trophy
The Petersen Trophy

The Sedgars SWD Premier League competition will reach a climax on Saturday when Union Stars and Mossel Bay will contest for the honours in the final at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn.

Union Stars, who dominated club cricket the past decade, will play in their sixth consecutive final and they will be determined to gain the Petersen Trophy back after they have lost it last season to NMMU. Union Stars has no less than ten players with first class experience in their team and on paper they will be the favourites. Their captain, Pieter Stuurman, will play in his 11th final.

Mossel Bay has a well balanced team and will be hungry to proof a point. In the previous final between the two clubs in 2009/10 they came very close when they lost by 21 runs – chasing 171 runs but experienced campaigners like Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Erinn Ewerts, Christo van Schalkwyk and Siya Simetu will be key players. With the exception of Otniell Baartman from Union Stars who is participating for the Warriors at the Franchise Academies week and Shane Smith (Mossel Bay) who is suffering from a leg injury both teams will be at full strength.

Both clubs this season also played in the Reserve- and Twenty/20 finals which were both won by Union Stars. Besides the honour to be crowned champions the winner will also represent SWD at the Momentum National Club Championships in Pretoria between 22-26 April 2015

The possible teams for Saturday are:

Union Stars: Waldo Lategan, Andre Olivier, Geoffrey Pêrel, Brendon Louw, LeRoi Bredenkamp, Pieter Stuurman, Glenton Stuurman, Marcello Piedt, Justin Jordaan, Douglas Baartman, Gershwin Rabie and Chrisendo Maksella

Mossel Bay: Shaun Ferreira, Neil Ferreira, Jaco Fourie, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Erinn Ewerts, Barry Oosthuizen, Christo van Schalkwyk, Riekie Lessing, Stefan Terblanche, Jaco Vorster, Siya Simetu

Previous winners since 2002: Union Stars (2002/03), Union Stars (2003/04), Pacaltsdorp United (2004/05), Union Stars (2005/06), Union Stars (2006/07), George (2007/08), George & Pacaltsdorp (2008/09), Union Stars (2009/10), Union Stars (2010/11), Union Stars (2011/12), Union Stars (2012/13), NMMU George (2013/14)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →