Baby Boks change two for semi

666Cape Town – Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron made two changes to his match-23 for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship semi-final clash against defending champions England on Monday evening in Calvisano, Italy.

Western Province flank Rikus Bothma takes over the No 6 jersey form his provincial team-mate Jacques Vermeulen while Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings) comes in on the bench to replace Grant Hermanus (WP).

The rest of the match squad who defeated Australia in Calvisano last Wednesday, were kept unchanged.

Theron said the changes are part of the team’s rotational policy.

“We know this tournament is a marathon and not a sprinting race and we therefore have to be sensible with our player management process. All the players are fit and in good shape and now they must go out and do the business.

“We are not looking at England’s previous result (they lost to France in their final pool match). They are in the semi-finals and will be looking to play in a third successive final. We know they will be highly motivated and will definitely have a good plan against us,” said Theron.

Theron and his management staff have managed the activities of the Junior Bok squad very carefully during the past few days.

“Although we have seen some rain here the past few days, the weather is still hot and humid and we therefore tried to give the players as must rest as possible.

“They are refreshed again and I am very pleased with their attitude and readiness. Earlier today (Sunday) we took them for an outing to Maranello, which they thoroughly enjoyed, and will finish off our preparations with the captains run in the early evening,” according to Theron.

The match starts at 20:30 and will be televised live on SuperSport in South Africa. New Zealand and France clash in the other semi-final at 18:30 at the same venue.

The Junior Springbok team to face England Under-20 on Monday in Calvisano:

15. Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls)

14. Khanyo Ngcukana (Western Province)

13. EW Viljoen (Western Province)

12. Daniel du Plessis (Western Province)

11. Leolin Zas (Western Province)

10. Brendon Thomson (DHL Western Province)

9. Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls)

8. Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls)

7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)

6.  Rikus Bothma (Western Province)

5. RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

4. Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls)

3. Thomas du Toit (Sharks)

2. Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)

1. Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs)


16. Jan van der Merwe (Blue Bulls)

17. Mzamo Majola (Sharks)

18. Frans van Wyk (Western Province)

19. Hyron Andrews (Sharks)

20. Dan du Preez (Sharks)

21. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Golden Lions)

22. Tinus de Beer (Blue Bulls)

23. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)


Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →