Teams announced for CSA Academies Week in Oudtshoorn


The cream of Southern African cricket will be in action in Oudtshoorn this week when South Western Districts will host the Cricket South Africa franchise week.  The tournament that will start on Tuesday will include the franchise academy teams of the Cobra’s, Warriors, Dolphins, Lions, Titans and Knights.

Mr Edward Khoza, the Manager Senior Cricket at Cricket South Africa, during a recent visit to Oudtshoorn emphasized on  the importance of the effective implementation of the Provincial Academy system.  The aim of the program is the retention and development of cricket players with a specific focus on black African players and a holistic approach to player development.  He also stressed that specific identification of talent that is based on focused succession planning will be important to ensure the success of the program.

SWD, since 2009, every year in September hosted the franchise tournament for regional franchises and this year will be the first time that the elite franchise academies event will be hosted in Oudtshoorn.  Matches will start daily at 10:00 and will be played according to the limited over (50 overs) format.

SWD representative for the Cobra's at the Cricket South Africa Franchise Academies tournament in Oudtshoorn are Andre du Plessis (coach), Coenie Nel, Otneill Baartman and Hanno Kotze
SWD representative for the Cobra’s at the Cricket South Africa Franchise Academies tournament in Oudtshoorn are Andre du Plessis (coach), Coenie Nel, Otneill Baartman and Hanno Kotze

The fixtures for the tournament are:

Day 1:  Tuesday 15 September 2015:  Dolphins vs Cobra’s (REC), Lions vs Warriors (Military Sport Club) and Knights vs Titans (Bridgton)

Day 2:  Wednesday 16 September 2015:  Lions vs Knights (REC), Dolphins vs Titans (Military Sport Club) and Warriors vs Cobra’s (Bridgton)

Day 3: Thursday 17 September 2015:    Titans vs Warriors (REC), Cobra’s vs Lions (Langenhoven Gymnasium) and Knights vs Dolphins (Bridgton)

Day 4: Friday 18 September 2015:    Warriors vs Dolphins (REC), Titans vs Lions (Military Sport Club) and Knights vs Cobra’s (Bridgton)

Day 5: Saturday 19 September 2015:   Cobra’s vs Titans (REC), Warriors vs Knights (Langenhoven Gymnasium) and Dolphins vs Lions (Bridgton)

Play & Cessation Times

First Session:                      10:00 – 13:30

Lunch Break:                      13:30 – 14:00

Second Session:               14:00 – 17:30


Luke Schlemmer , Bruce Kerr , Cameron Gordon , Gavin Morris, Ryan Wallace, Johnny Riekert , Gavin Reddy , Nazeer Jaffar , Mlungiseleli Gcado , Smangaliso Nhlebela , Ainsley Ndlvovu , Alvin Dithole  and Thula Ngcobo


Marcus Ackerman (North West),  Ryan Rickleton (Gauteng),  Karabo Mogotsi (Gauteng),  Neels Bergh (Gauteng),  Grant Roelofson (Gauteng),  Sebastian Green (Gauteng),  Juan Langesberg (Gauteng), Pieter Pretorius (North West),  Katlego Leokaoke (North West),  Isaac Dikgale (Gauteng),  Kamogelo Sereo (North West),  Masilo Ramothatha (Gauteng) and  Nandre Burger (Gauteng)


Kirwin Christoffels* (EP)  – Captain, Lukhanyo Tshiki (Border), Thapelo Letsholo (Border), Anru Emilju (EP), Aubrey Ferreira (EP), Loyiso Mdashe (Border), Mkhululi Calana (Border)  – V–Capt, Clayton Bosch (Border), Bongolwethu Makeleni (Border), Henco Voorstman (EP), Sinovuyo Nqoba (Border), Lizo Makhosi (EP) and Sesona Nwandwa (EP)


Benjamin Van Niekerk, Melvin Morata, Isaac Senetla, Jacques Snyman, Danru Ferns, Stefan Klopper (Capt), Migael Pretorius, Lance Humphrey, Amir Bux, Rivaldo Moonsamy, Siyabonga Mahima, Zwelo Ntsimbini and Melusi Dlamini


Ryno Van Rensburg (GW), Leus Du Plooy – Capt (FS), Driaan Bruwer (FS), Thabo Masheshemane (FS), Anton Muller (FS), Mzamo Booysen (Wk) (FS), Nketsi Nthako, (FS), Tshepo Ntuli (FS), Aiden Brooker (GW), Moati Kholumo (FS), Tami Mthonxy (GW), Koot Pienaar (FS) and Paballo Mogoera (FS)


Hayes    van den Berg (WP) – Capt, Ismael Gafieldien (Boland), Junaid Cassiem (Boland), Sipha Mavanda (WP), Hanno Kotze (SWD), Dayaan Galiem (WP), Geraldo George (Boland), Brian Shushu (WP), Ottniel Baartman (SWD), Charl Cyster (Boland), Coenie Nel (SWD), Myolisi Fumba (WP) and Jack Newby (WP)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →