Die Sneeukoningin

1Die Sneeukoningin (The Snow Queen) is an international animation movie which will be released exclusively in Afrikaans only at cinemas across South Africa for the first time on the 30th October 2015.

The film is based on the original, classic fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen, which was published in 1845.

The adapted film features the voices of Heidi Mollentze, Pierre Breytenbach, André Stolz, Melt Sieberhagen and many more.

The story follows Gerda and her brother Kai who must battle between good and evil.  The Snow Queen would like a new world where it is always winter and where the icy Polish winds cools the people’s souls and the clean, cold lines of the winter landscape takes away people’s emotions.  She has the world covered in ice and is planning to destroy all the art.

But a magic mirror predicts that the master glass maker, Vegard – whose mirrors not only reflects people’s appearances but also their souls – will threaten the Snow Queen’s kingdom.  One day, Vegard and his wife, Una are blown away by the Polish winds but they are able to first hide their daughter, Gerda and their baby boy, Kai.

Shortly after, one of the Snow Queen’s servants finds Kai and she believes that he is Vegard’s successor.  After Kai is kidnapped by the Snow Queen and locked up in her palace, Gerda journeys through the icy wonderland, accompanied by Luta, her pet ferret and Orm, the troll.  Gerda comes face to face with several difficult obstacles and makes new friends in an attempt to free Kai, but she will have to defeat the Snow Queen and win the hearts of the people to save the world.

The beautiful scenes, classical story and amazing, high quality animation of the animation company, Wizart, makes this a classic adventure film which will have audiences enthralled.

The film is distributed by Indigenous Film Distribution.    

The voices behind the characters belong to:

Bettie Kemp – Flower Witch

Anton Dekker – Narrator

Cobus Visser – King

Rina Nienaber – Shop Aunt

Pierre Breytenbach – Troll (Orm)

Christine Voorendyk –Gypsy Girl

Victor Voorendyk – Kai

Heidi Mollentze – Snow Queen / Baby Irma / Irma / Mirror

Karen Wessels – Gerda

Antowan Nöthling – Vegard

André Stolz – Head of Orphanage

Anja Oelsen – Princess

Melt Sieberhagen – Prince

Elma Potgieter – Gypsy Lady

Riana Wilkens – Sharman

Lochner de Kock – Courtier

Translation by Kobus Geldenhuys

Synchronisation by Anja Oelsen

Directed by Rina Nienaber

Sound by Juli van den Berg

Final Mix by Ben Oelsen

Studio – Presto Post



Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →