Sedgars SWD Cricket League results

SEDGARS LOGOThe NMMU Madibaz recorded two comprehensive victories during the first round of matches in the Sedgars SWD Premier League competition.

Tyron Walsh (NMMU)
Tyron Walsh (NMMU)

On Saturday NMMU posted 181/6 thanks to a fine contribution with the bat by Tyron Walsh (79).  NMMU then dismissed Mossel Bay for 121 to record a 60 runs victory.  Wian Oosthuizen (6/35) excelled with the ball.  On Sunday they defeated Blanco (174 all out) by 5 wickets to record a bonus point victory.  Hanno Kotze made an unbeaten 64 enabling the students to reach the target in 39 overs.

Defending champions, Union Stars (62/3), made a fine start to the season as they defeated George (61/9) by 7 wickets.  Marcello Piedt (4/11), Justin Jordaan (3/21) and Erinn Ewerts (2/11) excelled with the ball.

The match between Blanco and Pirates United scheduled for Saturday was abandoned due to a wet outfield.

The summarized score sheets are:

George vs Union Stars

GEORGE 61/9 (22.5 overs); (Stephan Vorster 24, Marcello Piedt 4/11, Justin Jordaan 3/21, Erinn Ewerts 2/11) UNION STARS 62/3 (11.3 overs);

(Pieter Stuurman 29, Brendon Louw 14*) Union Stars won by 7 wickets

Madibaz George vs Mossel Bay

MADIBAZ GEORGE 181/8 (50 overs); (Tyron Walsh 79, Wian Oosthuizen 30, Johandre Barnard 24, Shane Smith 6/35) MOSSEL BAY 121 (42.4 overs); (Christo van Schalkwyk 35, Wian Oosthuizen 5/28, Johandre Barnard 3/17, Coenie Nel 2/21) Madibaz George won by 60 runs 

Blanco vs Pirates United

Match abandoned

Blanco vs Madibaz George

BLANCO 174 (46.2 overs); Fabian Campher 41, Ethan Coeries 30, Evan Davids 25, Coenie Nel 5/24, Hanno Kotze 2/38) MADIBAZ GEORGE 176/5 (39 overs);

Hanno Kotze 64*, Coenie Nel 33, Eldin Booysen 2/41)

Madibaz George won by 5 wickets

The summarized score cards in the Sedgars SWD Promotion-, Reserve and Women’s league of matches that were contested the past weekend were:


Heidelberg vs Slangrivier

HEIDELBERG 244 (40.2 overs); Slangrivier 73 (19.3 overs)

Heidelberg won by 171 runs 

Riversdale vs Melkhoutfontein

RIVERSDALE 235 (50 overs); MELKHOUTFONTEIN 91 (21 overs)

Riversdale won by 144 runs 

Kranshoek Cobra’s vs Ramblers

KRANSHOEK COBRAS 170 (43.4 overs); RAMBLERS 175/7 (35.5 overs)

Ramblers won by 3 wickets 

Pioneers vs Kwanonqaba

PIONEERS 285/4 (40 overs); KWANONQABA 23 (15 overs)

Pioneers won by 262 runs 

Knysna Cavaliers vs Wilderness

KNYSNA CAVALIERS 325/4 (50 overs); WILDERNESS 117 (33.2)

Knysna Cavaliers won by 208 runs 


Madibaz George B vs Pacaltsdorp B

MADIBAZ GEORGE B 83 (21 overs); PACALTSDORP B 84/0 (10 overs)

Pacaltsdorp B won by 10 wickets 


Western Hope vs Mossel Bay

MOSSEL BAY 80 (27.1 overs); WESTERN HOPE 62/7 (16 overs)

Mossel Bay won by 18 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →