Day 2: Coke Week 2015

swd-cricketThe second day of the annual Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week belonged mainly to the bowlers once again, but a decision by Northerns’ captain, Willie Ludick and his coach Pieter Cronjé produced some extra spice to the day.

Northerns declared their first innings on 58/9 with a deficit of 61 runs against Mpumalanga. This decision gave Northerns a marginal chance at victory after it was already just a formality that they would be losing the match on the first innings.

The rules of time-cricket state that if a team scores more than 45 runs in its first innings before declaring, said team would only need five second inning wickets from the opposition to bowl them out. If a team declares its innings before reaching 45 runs, it would have to get rid of ten of the opponent’s batsmen.

Dean Foxcroft (4/28) then led the way in restricting Mpumalanga to 51/5 in their second innings. That left Northerns with a target of 113 runs needed from the last ten overs of the day for an outright victory. They however, finished 54 runs short.

Western Province were given a second life by the hosts, Eastern Province in their match at the Pollock Oval of Grey High School. They had their back against the wall at 40/5, but managed to reach a respectable 216. Their captain, Aaqil Ebrahim (78) and Ryan Klein (50*) played a major part in this fight back.

It seemed as though Eastern Province would be salvaging a draw after Kyle Jacobs (41) and Jonathan Draai (6) frustrated the Western Province bowlers. The duo scored 47 of their team’s 88 runs in the 18.5 overs they were together at the crease.

Gauteng was almost on the losing side of a match at the tournament for the first time since 2012’s main match against Western Province in Potchefstroom. If it wasn’t for a stubborn partnership over the eighth wicket between Wandile Makwetu (20*, 144b) and Ntokozo Mahlaba (2*, 43b) the team would have tasted defeat against KwaZulu-Natal Inland. The two batsmen spent 17.1 overs at the crease for an unbeaten 11 runs to secure the draw.

The best bowling performance of the day was produced by Roché Rossouw of Northern Cape, who picked up five wickets for 75 runs against South Western Districts. SWD however, still managed to secure a win on the first innings, thanks mainly to the batting of Richard Papenfus (78).

The best batting performance belonged to Free State’s Raynard van Tonder (79) against KwaZulu-Natal. Sean Whitehead (33*) again produced a quality performance with both the bat and the ball, while Kevin Pretorius (54) also weighed in with a half-century.

KwaZulu-Natal were also saved by an outstanding partnership. Joel Veeran (77*) and Sithabiso Zungu (45*) shared an unbeaten 131-run, fifth wicket stand after they were in trouble at 26/4.

Summarised Scorecards (Time Cricket):


KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 146 (Eathan Bosch 41; Conor McKerr 3/18, Chad Claassen 2/28);
Gauteng first innings 106/7 (Liam Smith 38; Jean de Wet 2/15, David Small 2/18).
Match drawn.

Free State first innings 232/6 decl.
(Raynard van Tonder 79, Kevin Pretorius 54, Niel Durow 47, Sean Whitehead 33*; Tyron Koen 2/51);
KwaZulu-Natal first innings 157/4 (Joel Veeran 77*, Sithabiso Zungu 45*, Niel Durow 2/11).
Match drawn.
Western Province first innings 216 (Aaqil Ebrahim 78, Ryan Klein 50*; Kyle Biddulph 4/29);
Eastern Province first innings 88 (Kyle Jacobs 41; Michael Cowen 3/20, Junaid Cawood 3/21).
Western Province won on first innings.
Mpumalanga first innings 119 (Jacques Fourie 35; Ruan de Swardt 3/12, Nishan Pillay 3/23);
Northerns first innings 58/9 decl. (Thabo Motaung 17, Ruan de Swardt 16*; Francois Kroukamp 4/12, Irfaan Hoosen 2/4);
Mpumalanga second innings 51/5 decl. (Dean Foxcroft 4/28);
Northerns second innings 59/2 (Rubin Hermann 25).
Mpumalanga won on first innings.
Easterns first innings 209/9 decl. (Kyle Scheepers 65, Michael Enslin 35; Fenito Mehl 3/62, Thandani Majebe 2/16, Byron Fortuin 2/17);
Boland first innings 196/8 (Fenito Mehl 49, Hannes Venter 42, Luke Philander 41*).
Match drawn.
North West first innings 164 (Vian Maritz 69, Jandré Dreyer 40; Charl Brits 3/47, Frederik Coetzee 2/14);
Namibia first innings 167 (Lohandré Louwrens 32, Jurgen Linde 30, Nikolaas Davin 30; Tshepo Seroalo 2/16, Ruan Haasbroek 2/17);
North West second innings 112/1 (Louren Steenkamp 63, Lesego Senokwane 34*).
Namibia won on first innings.
Northern Cape first innings 175/8 decl. (Gladwin Nieuwenhuizen 50, Reabone Prophy 26; Dillon Nuys 4/49);
South Western Districts first innings 201/8 decl. (Richard Papenfus 78, Jean du Plessis 46; Roché Rossouw 5/75);
Northern Cape second innings 85/2 decl. (Marko de Kock 29; Siyabonga Mbathane 2/23);
South Western Districts second innnings 38/3 (Jaco van Rensburg 19*; Hannes Jacobs 3/6).
South Western Districts won on first innings.
Border first innings 198 (Bamanye Xengxe 59, Mncedisi Malika 39; Brendan Bezuidenhout 2/13, Don Radebe 2/28);
Limpopo first innings 161/6 (Morné Venter 70, Rassie Pretorius 31; Bamanye Xengxe 2/25).
Match drawn.
Courtesy of Cricket South Africa
Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →