Sedgars SWD Cricket T20 quarter final results

Nathan Murray
Nathan Murray


Harlequins Forces recorded a nail-biting five-wicket victory in a high scoring quarter-final against Pirates United in the Sedgars SWD Cricket Twenty20 competition at Loerie Park in Knysna when they scored the winning runs from the last ball of the match.  Pirates United thanks to a fine innings by Chris Marrow (55*) posted a formidable 164/3 but Harlequins responded to the challenge when they replied with 166/5 with Glenton Stuurman (64) their batting hero.

Mossel Bay (118/2) will meet Harlequins in the semi-final after a comfortable 8 wicket victory against Pacaltsdorp United (115/4) in their contest at the Van Riebeek Stadium.  Shaun Ferreira (52*) was the batting hero for Mossel Bay who reached the target in the 14th over.

The defending champions, Union Stars (127/0 after 10 overs) who made use of their home ground advantage at the Bridgton Sports Grounds, were too powerful for promotion league qualifiers – Kranshoek Cobras (123 all out) – when they won by 10 wickets thanks to an unbeaten opening stand of 127 between Waldo Lategan (66*) and Jean Heunis (48*).

Union Stars will meet Sussex in the other semi-finals after the D’Almeida based team posted 163/8 and thereafter restricted Ramblers at the Rosemoore Stadium to 121/8 for a 42 runs victory.  Former SWD all-rounder Nathan Murray, who made 47 runs with the bat and take 2/19 with the ball was the key performer for Sussex.

The draw for the semi-finals (that will be followed by the final) that will be played on Saturday January, 9th 2015 at the REC Ground is:

  • Union Stars vs Sussex
  • Mossel Bay vs Harlequins Forces

The summarised score cards for the quarter-finals are:

Pirates United vs Harlequins Forces

PIRATES UNITED 164/3 (Albertus de Lange 48, Chris Marrow 55*)
HARLEQUINS FORCES 166/5 (Glenton  Stuurman 64, Jermaine LeKay 39, Jaco Marx 21, Irvin Campher 2/31)
Harlequins Forces won by 5 wickets 

Mossel Bay vs Pacaltsdorp United

PACALTSDORP UNITED 115/4 (Daniel Koert 32, Byron Botha 31, Rouall de Reuck 21)
MOSSEL BAY 118/2 (Shaun Ferreira 52*, Oliver Gosling 36)
Mossel Bay won by 8 wickets 

Union Stars vs Kranshoek Cobras

KRANSHOEK COBRAS 123 (John Koopman 33, Keith Oraai 23, Kevin Brouers 20, Justin Jordaan 2/32, Elridge Booysen 3/15, Gurshwin Rabie 3/19)
UNION STARS 127/0 (Waldo Lategan 66*, Jean Heunis 48*)
Union Stars won by 10 wickets 

Ramblers vs Sussex

SUSSEX 163/8 (Reavan Plaatjies 35, Lindl Trim, Nathan Murray 47, Eugene Swartz 2/15, Nolan Booysen 2/15, Arthur Lottering 3/39),
RAMBLERS 121/8 (Andrew Calvert 49, Heath Joseph 21, Francois Swart 21, Nathan Murray 2/19, Rowan Groenewald 2/26, Curtley Kannemeyer 2/16)
Sussex won by 42 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →