Union Stars set the pace in the Premier League

With two victories during the past weekend, Union Stars cemented their position at the top of the table of the Sedgars SWD Premier League competition.

Leroi Bredenkamp
Leroi Bredenkamp

On Saturday, Western Hope (155 all out) challenged the defending champions, Union Stars (156/8) in a nail-biting derby encounter at the Bridgton Sport Grounds which was won by Union Stars by 2 wickets thanks to an unbeaten match-winning innings by Leroi Bredenkamp (69*; 103 balls; 7×4).  With the score of Union Stars at 104/7 – chasing 156 – a Western Hope victory looked very likely but Bredenkamp and Gurshwin Rabie added 37 runs for the 8th wicket.  On Sunday, the former SWD all-rounder, Merlin Masimela (6/12 in 5.2 overs) destroyed the NMMU (65 all out) batting line-up with an excellent bowling display to ensure an easy 6 wicket victory for Union Stars as they reached the target (66/4) in the 13th over.

Pirates United (154/9) pulled off a dramatic 1 wicket victory against Mossel Bay (153 all out) at the Van Riebeeck Stadium to boost their aspirations for a place in the semi-finals.  Former SWD openings bowler, Wessel Hartslief (5/22 in 10 overs) produced an outstanding bowling performance for the Hornlee based team but it was an unbeaten partnership of 36 runs for the 10th wicket between Renaldo van Rooyen and Darryl Sigula that took Pirates over the line.

Wessel Hartslief
Wessel Hartslief

Harlequins (78/7) recorded a three-wicket bonus point victory against Blanco (77 all out) whilst Sussex (146 all out) defeated Pacaltdorp United (90 all out) by 56 runs for a full complement of match points.  Another former SWD player, Nathan Murray (48 with the bat) and (4/28 with the ball), was the hero for Sussex.

Union Stars vs Western Hope

WESTERN HOPE 155  (Siyabonga Booi 48, Lesley Maksella 43, Brendon Louw 3/10, Otneill Baartman 3/19, Justin Jordaan 2/44) UNION STARS 156/8 (Leroi Bredenkamp 69*, Brendon Louw 32, Envirino Swartz 2/17, Siyabonga Booi 2/26, Lesley Maksela 2/25) Union Stars won by 2 wickets

Harlequins Forces vs Blanco

BLANCO 77 (Ivan Williams 17, Morné Jewell 4/25, Sydwill Williams 2/12, Juan Murphy 2/7) HARLEQUINS 78/7 (Jaco Marx 28, Granville Coeries 3/43, Jason Fortuin 2/17)

Harlequins won by 3 wickets

Pacaltsdorp United vs Sussex

SUSSEX 146 (Rowan Groenewald 38, Nathan Murray 48, Curtley Kannemeyer 22, Clinton Meintjies 2/15, Granville Campher 4/34, Nkosinanthi Siyoli 2/18) PACALTSDORP UNITED 90 (Nathan Murray 4/28, Godwin Plaatjies 2/24)

Sussex won by 56 runs

Mossel Bay vs Pirates United

MOSSEL BAY 153 (Jaco Vorster 44, Heinrich Matthee 36,  Bronwill Goeda 2/32, Wessel Hartslief 5/22) PIRATES UNITED 154/9 (48.4) (Chris Marrow 40, Dehihne Olivier 31, Irvin Campher 24, Shane Smith 3/28, Siya Simetu 2/21)

Pirates United won by 1 wicket

NMMU Madibaz vs Union Stars

NMMU MADIBAZ 65 (24.2) (Wiaan Ooshuizen 19, Merlin Masimela 6/12, Marcello Piedt 3/20) UNION STARS 66/4 (12.5) (Brendon Louw 30*, Lyndon Volkwyn 3/20)

Union Stars won by 6 wickets

Ramblers maintained their unbeaten status and log leader of Pool C of the Sedgars Promotion league with two comprehensive bonus point victories the past weekend.  On Saturday Ramblers dismissed Kwanonqaba for 61 and thereafter posted 62/2 for an 8 wicket victory.  On Sunday Ramblers posted 201/9 before they dismissed Pioneers for 98 runs for a victory by 103 runs.   Bongolethu (172 all out) who lost by 8 runs against Selbourne (180 all out) of Beaufort West is still the top of the table team in pool A.

Union Stars C and Ramblers B are the respective log leaders in the Reserve league whilst the Women’s team of Union Stars remains unbeaten in the Women’s league.

The summarised score cards in the Promotion-, Premier and Women’s league is:


Mayflower vs Calitzdorp

MAYFLOWER 98 (30); CALITZDORP 99/8 (30)

Calitzdorp won by 2 wickets

Dysselsdorp vs Ladismith

LADISMITH 233 (41.4); DYSSELSDORP 181 (40.2)

Ladismith won by 52 runs

Bongolethu vs Selbourne


Selbourne won by 8 runs

Albertinia vs Hartenbos

HARTENBOS 168 (39.4); ALBERTINIA 106 (30.1)

Hartenbos won by 62 runs

Kwanonqaba vs Ramblers

KWANONQABA 61 (16); RAMBLERS 62/2 (8.5)

Ramblers won by 8 wickets

Wilderness vs Kranshoek Cobras

WILDERNESS 123 (36); KRANSHOEK COBRAS 127/7 (25.5)

Kranshoek Cobras won by 3 wickets

New Dawn Park vs Knysna Cavaliers

KNYSNA CAVALIERS 154/9 (41.2); NEW DAWN PARK 155/7 (41.2)

New Dawn Park won by 3 wickets 

Ramblers vs Pioneers

RAMBLERS 210/9 (50); PIONEERS 98 (31)

Ramblers won by 103 runs


Western Hope B vs Bongolethu B


Western Hope B won 122 runs 

Thembalethu B vs Union Stars C


Union Stars C won by 213 runs 

Mossel Bay B vs Hartenbos B

MOSSEL BAY B 199 (38.4); HARTENBOS B 36 (11.5)

Mossel Bay B won by 163 runs 

Union Stars B vs Harlequins B


Harlequins B won by 5 wickets

Pacaltsdorp B vs Sussex B

SUSSEX B 186 (42.3); PACALTSDORP UNITED B118 (37.5)

Sussex B won by 68 runs

Mossel Bay B vs NMMU Madibaz B

MOSSEL BAY B 368/6 (49); NMMU MADIBAZ B 128 (36.4)

Mossel Bay B won by 240 runs

Bongolethu B vs Blanco B

BONGOLETHU B 242 (39.3); BLANCO B 155 (29.4)

Bongolethu B won by 87 runs


Union Stars vs Harlequins


Union Stars won by 10 wickets 

Mossel Bay vs Thembalethu

MOSSEL BAY 164/3 (20); THEMBALETHU B 29/8 (11)

Mossel Bay won by 134 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →