Union Stars to take on NMMU in Premier League final

The defending champions, Union Stars, will take on NMMU George in the final of the Sedgars SWD Premier League competition that will be played at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn.

Justin Jordaan
Justin Jordaan

Union Stars will play in their seventh consecutive final but the Bridgton based team will be well aware of NMMU who – in the 2013/14 season – defeated Stars in the final.

Both clubs recorded convincing victories in the semi-finals that were contested on Saturday. I

n their clash at the Bridgton Sports Grounds Union Stars posted 187 runs before they dismissed Mossel Bay for 123 runs for a 54 runs victory. Justin Jordaan (38) in the unfamiliar position of opening bat scored 38 with Jaco Fourie (3/17) who recorded the best bowling figures for Mossel Bay. Otneill Baartman (3/23) and his SWD teammate Marcello Piedt (2/18) were in great form with the ball for Union Stars.

At Loerie Park in Knysna, the match between Pirates United and NMMU was reduced to 30 overs per team after a delayed start due to a damp wicket. NMMU, with their captain Lyndon Volkwyn (5/12 in 5 overs) the main destroyer, dismissed Pirates for only 48 runs whereafter NMMU only needed 9.2 overs to reach the winning target for an 8 wicket victory.

The summarised score cards are:

Union Stars vs Mossel Bay
UNION STARS 187 (Justin Jordaan 38, Sammy-Joe Avontuur 29, Leroi Bredenkamp 34, Pieter Stuurman 24, Christopher Bosch 2/25, Shane Smith 2/26, Jaco Fourie 3/17) MOSSEL BAY (Christo van Schalkwyk 30, Mario Jansen 2/19, Otneill Baartman 3/23, Marcello Piedt 2/18) Union Stars won by 54 runs

Pirates United vs NMMU George
PIRATES UNITED 48 (Lyndon Volkwyn 5/12, Coenie Nel 2/10) NMMU GEORGE 50/2 (Hanno Kotze 19*) NMMU George won by 8 wickets.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →