Union Stars ready for National Club Championships

Union Stars, the club champions from South Western Districts, will be in for a tough assignment at the Cricket South Africa Momentum National Club Championships which will take place in Pretoria from 22-26 April 2016.  The final will take place at 27 April.


By their own standards Union Stars will admit that they did not reach the desired heights when representing SWD at this event also considering the fact that they luxury of fielding the majority of their team with provincial players with first class experience.

The Union Stars squad of 14 playersthat will travel to Pretoria is:

Sammy-Joe Avontuur (captain), Pieter Stuurman, Brendon Louw, Mario Jansen, Merlin Masimela, Nelson Setimani, Justin Jordaan, LeroiBredenkamp, Marcello Piedt, OtneillBaartman, Geoffrey Pêrel, GurshwinRabie, Anver Venter and Hershell America.  The team manager is Pat Sambo and Goliath Ewerts is the coach.

They will open their campaign against the Boland champions, Steinhoff Maties, who will always be a very strong competitor.  The complete fixtures are:

22 April – vs Steinhoff Maties (Boland) at the Tuks Oval

23 April – vs Cape Town CC (Western Province) at the Groenkloof Oval

24 April – vs Crusaders CC (KwaZulu Natal) at the Laudium Oval

25 April – vs NWU Pukke (North West) at the Tuks Oval

26 April – vs CUT CC (Free State) at the Tuks Oval

Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →