Brendon Louw is SWD Cricketer of the Year

The wicket keeper/batsman, Brendon Louw, who produced a versatile performance as wicket keeper batsman was awarded with the Standard Bank trophy as player of the season during the SWD Cricket Annual Awards function that was held at the Surval Boutique and Olive Estate on Saturday morning.

Brendon Louw
Brendon Louw

Louw was the wicket keeper that achieved the most dismissals in both the Cricket South African Sunfoil Three Day Competition (33 dismissals) as well as the Cricket South Africa One Day Competition (9 dismissals).On the SWD batting averages for the season he finished 2nd in the Three Day Competition (407 runs at an average of 37), 2nd in the One Day Competition (224 runs at an average of 44.8) and 1st in the Twenty20 Competition (average of 63)

The various league winners – Union Stars (Premier League), Ramblers (Promotion League), Union Stars B (Reserve League), Union Stars (Twenty20 competition) and Union Stars (Women’s League) received their trophies whilst the outstanding performers in the league completion were also honoured.  The versatile and promising Wiaan Oosthuizen from NMMU George, who scored the sixth most runs and took the most wickets was the Premier League player of the season whilst John Koopman (Kranshoek Cobra’s Cricket Club) and Christo van Schalkwyk (Mossel Bay) who recorded outstanding achievements in the Promotion and Twenty20 league was awarded as the Promotion League and Twenty20 league player of the season.  Anver Venter (Union Stars), with his versatile performances with bat and ball in the Reserve League was the Player of the season in this league.  Elzaan Pietersen (Mossel Bay) was the player of the season in the Women’s League.

Jean du Plessis, who was selected for the SA Colts team was the High Schools Player of the Season whilst Michael Papenfuls (both from Glenwood House) who produced outstanding performances at the CSA U/13 National tournament was the Primary Schools Players of the season.  Other category award winners were Verlon Peters (Scorer of the Season),  Moses Carolus (Umpire of the Season), Japhtha Julies (Bridgton Sport Ground – Groundsman of the Season), Bradley Roelfse (Player of the Season; Players with Disabilities),  Monriano Fortuin (LSEN Player of the Season) and Annerie Derckson from Sentraal High School (Girls u/19 player of the season).  Haroline Rhodes who finished 4th overall on the CSA Limited Over Women’s Competition, Bowling Averages – 9 wickets at an average of 7.8 – and 14th overall in the CSA T20 Women’s Competition – 5 wickets at an average of 9.0 was awarded as the SWD Senior Women’s player of the season.

The President of the Board, Mr Rudy Claassen was awarded with the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy after SWD won the award as Western Cape Sport Federation of the Year and finish third overall in the CSA Operational Score Card assessment.  The SWD U/15 team, who excelled at the CSA U/15 National week that took place in East London received the award as Representative Team of the Year.

At schools level Todd Walker (Oakhill School) walked away with the trophies as batsmen of the Year in both the Coca Cola T20 Competition and Schools U/19 Super League.  Marcello Wessels from Langenhoven High in Riversdale was the bowler of the Season in the T20 competition whilst Brain Jack from Sentraal High School the Bowler of the Season in the U/19 Super League.  Johann Muller from Langenhoven Gymnasium won the award as Batsmen and Bowler of the Season in the U/15 Super League.

Three members that passed away during the past year – Stephen Swigelaar (former Union Stars player and administrator), Greg Wotherspoon (who design and maintained the SWD Cricket web-site) and John April (who played club cricket for Union Stars and Harlequins Forces) – were all honoured with a roll of honour award.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →