Stander starts for Ireland

CJ Stander has been selected at blindside flank for Ireland’s first Test against the Springboks at Newlands on Saturday.


The South African will be joined in his adopted nation’s back row by Jordi Murphy and Jamie Heaslip. Hooker Rory Best will captain the side.

In the backline, coach Joe Schmidt has opted to start the 24-year-old Paddy Jackson at flyhalf in the absence of the injured Johnny Sexton, with Ian Madigan on the bench.

Luke Marshall and Robbie Henshaw are the centres, while Jared Payne is at fullback with Andrew Trimble and Keith Earls on the wings.

Ireland – 15 Jared Payne, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Finlay Bealham, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Craig Gilroy.

Springbok team

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Super Rugby Mag

Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →