Rabie to captain SWD at Africa T20

Gurshwin Rabie, who was appointed as SWD captain for the 2016/17 season will be the leader of the pack when SWD host Pool B of the Africa Twenty 20 Cup in Oudtshoorn from 16-18 September.

Gurshwin Rabie.  Photo by Duif du Toit / Gallo Images
Gurshwin Rabie. Photo by Duif du Toit / Gallo Images

Rabie, who turned 33 in June, is the most experienced SWD player with 85 First Class-, 42 Limited Over- and 11 Twenty20 matches under the belt.  As the main strike bowler of the province he bagged 315 first class wickets with 19 five wicket hauls and 10 ten wicket hauls.

With the Oudtshoorn based team who is setting its sights on the title this season the Africa T20 competition will provide an ideal start to their campaign.  The wicket keeper/batsman, Dane Vilas, who was a regular member of the Proteas test team last season as well as Dane Piedt, who played test cricket for South Africa against the New Zealand Black caps last month, were included in the SWD team.  The Cape Cobra pace bowler, Dane Paterson, who will take the new ball – is very exciting bowler in domestic franchise cricket in South Africa and showed his class in the T20 format and will boost the SWD team.

Jean du Plessis. (Photo by Richard Huggard/Gallo Images)
Jean du Plessis. (Photo by Richard Huggard/Gallo Images)

SWD will host pool B of the draw and will have tough competition in the pool with defending champions, Northerns as well as Kenya and Northern Cape.

Cricket South Africa and Supersport confirmed that both the two fixtures on the Saturday (17th) and Sunday (18th) will be broadcasted live by Supersport.

The rules of the competition stipulates that two U/21 players of which one must be u/19 must be on the playing field which opened the door for the exciting school boy from Glenwood House, Jean du Plessis. Du Plessis represented the SA Colts Schools team in 2015.  Sammy-Joe Avontuur, who was included in the provisional squad of 20 players, was not considered after he announced his retirement from cricket.

The final group of thirteen players are:  Gurshwin Rabie (captain), Jongile Kilani, Siyabonga Booi, Brendon Louw, Neil Hornbuckle, Hanno Kotze, Nelson Setimani, Glenton Stuurman, Dane Piedt, Dane Vilas, Chris Marrow, Jean du Plessis and Dane Paterson.

The program for the weekend is:

Friday 16 September

Kenya vs Northerns (09:45 – 12:55) & SWD vs Northern Cape (13:30-16:40)

Saturday 17 September

Northern Cape vs Kenya (09:45 – 12:55) & SWD vs Northerns (13:30-16:40)

Sunday 18 September

Northerns vs Northern Cape (09:45-12:55) & SWD vs Kenya (13:30-16:40)

Dane Piedt. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)
Dane Piedt. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →