First weekend of club cricket for the new season

The local leagues cricket season in the South Western Districts will kick-off this weekend when the first rounds of matches will be played in the Sedgars Twenty20 competition.

Defending champions, Union Stars
Defending champions, Union Stars

This league will be contested starting with a preliminary round of four pools with all affiliated clubs participating.  Within each pool the teams playing a ‘round robin’ single round. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the knock-out phases – Quarter final’s, Semi-Final’s and the Final.

The team with the superior ranking will enjoy home ground advantage with exceptions in the qualifying round whereby matches will be grouped to a certain venue as well as in the final’s (which will be played at the REC Ground). The semi-finals and final will take place on 17 December 2016.  Union Stars is the defending champions.

The fixtures for weekend are: 


Pool A

Dysselsdorp vs Glen Roses, Glen Roses vs Calitzdorp,

Glen Roses vs Beaufort West (Dysselsdorp Sports Ground)

Bongolethu vs Western Hope, Ladismith vs Western Hope,

Bongolethu vs Western Hope (Bongolethu Sports Ground)

Pool B

Mossel Bay vs Hartenbos, Heidelberg vs Mossel Bay, Mossel Bay vs Slangrivier (Van Riebeeck Stadium A)

Sussex vs Heidelberg, Slangrivier vs Hartenbos, Heidelberg vs Hartenbos

(Van Riebeeck Stadium B) 

Pool C

NMMU Madibaz George vs New Dawn Park, Thembalethu vs New Dawn Park, NMMU Madibaz George vs Thembalethu (Saasveld Varsity Sports Ground) 

Pool D

Harlequins Forces vs George, Pioneers vs Harlequins Forces,

George vs Pioneers (Rooirivier-Rif)

Kwanonqaba vs Wilderness, Wilderness vs Pirates United,

Kwanonqaba vs Pirates United (Van Riebeeck Stadium C) 


Pool A

Beaufort West vs Dysselsdorp, Calitzdorp vs Beaufort West,

Dysselsdorp vs Calitzdorp (Dysselsdorp Sports Ground)

Glen Roses vs Bongolethu, Ladismith vs Glen Roses,

Western Hope vs Glen Roses (Bongolethu Sports Ground) 

Pool B

Mossel Bay vs Sussex, Riversdale vs Mossel Bay, Albertinia vs Sussex

(Van Riebeeck Stadium A)

Albertinia vs Hartenbos, Slangrivier vs Sussex, Melkhoutfontein vs Hartenbos,

(Van Riebeeck Stadium B) 

Pool C

Blanco vs NMMU Madibaz George, Mayflower vs Blanco,

Mayflower vs NMMU Madibaz George (Saasveld Varsity Sports Ground) 

Pool D

Harlequins Forces vs Kwanonqaba, Kwanonqaba vs Kranshoek Cobras, Harlequins Forces vs Kranshoek Cobras (Military Sports Club)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →