Sedgars SWD Cricket League results

The defending champions, Union Stars, together with Mossel Bay and Ramblers advanced to the semi-finals of the Sedgars SWD Twenty20 competition.  The fourth semi-finalist will be determined on Sunday when Western Hope is taking on Harlequins Forces.

Bradley De Villiers.
Bradley De Villiers.

An outstanding batting display by Pieter Stuurman (83*) and Leroi Bredenkamp (73*) enabled Union Stars to post 175/2 for a convincing 46 runs victory against George (128/8).  Mossel Bay (146/6) recorded a nail-biting 1 run victory against Pacaltsdorp United (145/8).  Chris Marrow scored 66 for Pacaltsdorp United.  A team effort pulled Ramblers (123/4) through for a 6 wicket victory against Sussex (122 all out).  Askin Louw (50) with the bat and Bradley de Villiers (4/6), Shaun Pretorius (3/26) and Shael Laminie (2/23) with the ball were the heroes for Ramblers.

The summarized score cards are:

Mossel Bay vs Pacaltsdorp

MOSSEL BAY 146/6 (Tony Ferreira 33, Christo van Schalkwyk 29, Morne Willeman 2/22, Aldin Daniels 2/33)
PACALTSDORP 145/8 (Chris Marrow 66, Jaco van Greunen 43)
Mossel Bay won by 1 run

Union Stars vs George

UNION STARS 175/2 (Pieter Stuurman 83*, Leroi Bredenkamp 73*, Leroy Nortje 1/19, Grant Simpson 1/28)
GEORGE 128/8 (Andre Mlando 25, Enver Bezuidenhout 22, Grant Esau 3/11)
Union Stars won by 46 runs 

Ramblers vs Sussex

SUSSEX  122 (Lindl Trim 37, Emile Ezau 26, Bradley De Villiers 4/6, Shaun Pretorius 3/26, Shael Laminie 2/23)
RAMBLERS 123/4 (Askin Louw 50, Byron Botha 44, Ranwill Claassen 2/23, Nathan Murray 2/27)
Ramblers won by 6 wickets

With the Sedgars SWD Promotion League approaching the half-way stage in the Pool phases a tough contest is expected in the various pool phases of the competition.  Ladismith (190 all out) who defeated Glen Roses (51 all out) by 139 runs is leading pool A with 20 points (5 matches).  Mayflower and Bongolethu are also on 20 points but after 6 matches.

In Pool B Riversdale is leading the pool with 30 points after 7 matches followed by Hartenbos (23 points after 6 matches).  In Pool C Pioneers is well ahead with 22 points after 5 matches.

In the Women’s competition Western Hope (30 points after 7 matches) are the log leaders followed by Mossel Bay (29 points after 8 matches) and Union Stars (25 points) after 6 matches.

The summarised results are:


Ladismith vs Glen Roses

LADISMITH 190 (31.5); GLEN ROSES 51 (11.4)

Ladismith won by 139 runs


Thembalethu vs Western Hope

THEMBALETHU 33/6 (10.2); WESTERN HOPE 34/0 (6.5)

Western Hope won by 10 wickets

Beaufort West vs Union Stars

BEAUFORT WEST 20/6 (10.4); UNION STARS 21/1 (1.5)

Union Stars won by 9 wickets


Union Stars C vs Ramblers C

RAMBLERS C 106 (31.2); UNION STARS C 108/4 (23.2)

Union Stars C won by 4 wickets

Mossel Bay B vs Ramblers B

MOSSEL BAY B 86 (26.1); RAMBLERS B 87/3 (18.4)

Ramblers B won by 7 wickets

George B vs Sussex B

SUSSEX B 329 (46.2); GEORGE 140 (32.4)

Sussex B won by 189 runs

Union Stars B vs Bongolethu B

UNION STARS B 134 (31.2); BONGOLETHU B 137/3 (31.2)

Bongolethu B won by 7 wickets 

Ramblers B vs Mossel Bay B

MOSSEL BAY B 79 (23.3); RAMBLERS B 80/4 (17)

Ramblers B won by 6 wickets

Hartenbos B vs Pacaltsdorp B

PACALTSDORP 114 (33); HARTENBOS B 104 (34)

Pacaltsdorp B won by 10 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →