Oudtshoorn to host Cobras vs Lions clash

The first ever Sunfoil Series four-day franchise match will be played at the Recreation in Oudtshoorn from Thursday the 5th of January until Sunday when the Builtnet Cape Cobras will take on the Bizhub Highveld Lions.

Wayne Parnell. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

The hosting of the event will be a historic landmark for SWD Cricket.  Although SWD hosted more than sixty-first class matches over a period of ten years this will be the first franchise match in the Ostrich Capital.

The Buildnat Cape Cobras have appointed the former South African batting icon Ashwell Prince as caretaker head coach until the end of the 2016/2017 campaign replacing Paul Adams who has been at the helm as coach since June 2012. The South African off-spinner Dane Piedt was appointed as interim captain of the Cape Cobras for the rest of the 2016-/2017 season.

“Paul’s new role is pivotal, as he will be the caretaker and manager of the pipeline structures, nurturing the next generation of franchise players,” said Nabeal Dien, chief executive officer of Western Cape Cricket (WCC).


Hardus Viljoen. (Photo by Louis Botha/Gallo Images)

“Last season was the first one in eight seasons in which we had an empty trophy cabinet. This season, we have lost three of our first five Sunfoil Series matches and we are hovering at the basement of the log in the Sunfoil Series, said Cobras Chief Executive Officer, Nabeal Dien.

“We believe that Ashwell possesses the international pedigree, the management skills and the interpersonal prowess to rejuvenate the Cobras.  “He is not only a veteran of 66 tests for South Africa, striking 11 centuries, but was also a trophy-winning captain of the Cape Cobras” said Dien.

Various players with international experience will be in action with the Lions that will field players like Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Hardus Viljoen and Aaron Pangiso.  The Cobras line-up will include Dane Piedt, Andrew Puttick, Dane Vilas, Justin Ontong, Stiaan van Zyl and Wayne Parnell.

Play will start at 10:00 each day and entrance will be free.

The teams are: 

BUILNAT CAPE COBRAS (From): Dane Piedt (Captain), Andrew Puttick, Aviwe Mgijima, Dane Paterson, Dane Vilas, Jason Smith, Justin Ontong, Kyle Simmonds, Omphile Ramela, Stiaan van Zyl, Tshepo Moreki and Wayne Parnell. 

BIZHUB HIGHVELD LIONS (From):  Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Dominic Hendricks,  Nickey van der Bergh, Kagiso Rapulana, Dwaine Pretorius, Mangaliso Mosehle, Wiaan Mulder, Bjorn Fortuin, Hardus Viljoen, Aaron Phangiso, Ayavuya Myoli and Devon Conway

The Builnat Cape Cobras at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn with their newly appointed coach, Ashwill Prince, before their first training session ahead of the Sunfoil Series match against the Bizhub Highveld Lions that will start on Thursday. Back Row: Ashwill Prince (Head Coach), Justin Ontong, Sherman Baatjies (Strength and Conditioning Coach), Siya Sibiya (Assistant Coach), Wayne Parell, Dane Paterson, Kyle Simmonds, Omphile Ramela, Stiaan van Zyl and Andrew Puttic. Front Row: Aviwe Mgijima, Jason Smith, Dane Piedt (Captain), Dane Vilas, Tsepo Moreki and Michael Gwilliams (Physiotherapist)
Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →