Stormers steam past Eagles

The Stormers scored nine tries in their 57-14 win against SWD Eagles in George on Saturday.

Stormers back Dillyn Leyds scores

The Cape franchise took some time to settle in what were wet conditions at Outeniqua Park. After 20 minutes, they scored their first try through Chad Solomon.

The Stormers were handed a further boost when Eagles scrumhalf Boela Abrahams was yellow carded in the 30th minute. The visitors scored another try during Abrahams’ absence, but also conceded one at the other end of the park.

Cobus Wiese scored right before the break. At half-time, the Stormers led 19-7 and were well in control.

Cheslin Kolbe and captain Dillyn Leyds both crossed the line in the period after half-time. The Stormers continued to pile on the pressure, and surpassed the 50-point mark five minutes before the final whistle.

SWD Eagles – Tries: Charles Radebe, Justin Bhana. Conversions: Johnny Welthagen, Leegan Moos.
Stormers – Tries: Chad Solomon, Frans van Wyk, Cobus Wiese, Cheslin Kolbe, Dillyn Leyds, Jaco Coetzee, Carlu Sadie, Justin Phillips, Daniel Maree. Conversions: Damian Willemse (3), Kurt Coleman (3).

SWD Eagles – 15 Leighton Eksteen, 14 Shadward Fillies, 13 Kirsten Heyns, 12 Wilneth Engelbrecht, 11 Charles Radebe, 10 Johnny Welthagen, 9 Boela Abrahams, 8 Christo du Plessis, 7 Devon Raubenheimer, 6 Janneman Stander (c), 5 Brendon Snyman, 4 Hardus Coetzee, 3 Basil Short, 2 Kelvin Fikster, 1 Juandre Digue.
Subs: 16 Teunis Niewoudt, 17 Brendan Haas, 18 Anton Smit, 19 Tiaan Weyers, 20 Devron Jansen, 21 Freginald Africa, 22 Gerswin Muller, 23 Arden Wesso, 24 Dillon Snell, 25 Lorenzo Gordan, 26 Rudi Michaels, 27 Quaide Langeveld, 28 Justin Bhana, 29 Gideon Lambrecht, 30 Leegan Moos, 31 Rupino Plaatjies

Stormers squad – Juarno Augustus, Eital Bredenkamp, David Brits, Jaco Coetzee, Kurt Coleman, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Harlon Klaasen, Cheslin Kolbe, Dan Kriel, Dillyn Leyds (c), Wilco Louw, Godlen Masimla, SP Marais, Daniel Maree, Dean Muir, Khanyo Ngcukana, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Caylib Oosthuizen, Justin Phillips, Carlu Sadie, Marcello Sampson, JD Schickerling, Marnus Schoeman, Chad Solomon, Reuben Terblanche, Frans van Wyk, EW Viljoen, Cobus Wiese, Damian Willemse, Eduard Zandberg.

SA Rugby Mag

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →