Sedgars SWD Cricket League results

A gutsy performance under huge pressure secured Pirates United their first place in a Premier League final when they defeated Western Hope by 1 wicket on Saturday at Loerie Park. 

Bronwill Goeda

The two clubs finished second and third respectively after completion of the round robin stage and Pirates will now take on the defending champions, Union Stars, in the final that will be contested at the Recreation Ground in Oudtshoorn on Saturday 18 March 2017.

Western Hope, who won the toss, only managed to post 148 runs in their innings with Murray Commins (35) the main contributor with the bat.  The Pirates run chase did not proceed according to plans and with the fall of the 8th wicket at 95 an all Oudtshoorn final was on the cards.  It was, however, a gutsy 8th wicket partnership of 46 between batting hero Albertus Jaco de Lange (51) and Bronwill Goeda (25) that guided them to victory.  Pirates reached the winning target after 47.5 overs to clinch a memorable victory.  Douglas Baartman (5/29) excelled for Western Hope with the ball.

Pirates United vs Western Hope

WESTERN HOPE 148 (45.3) (Murray Commins 35, Douglas Baartman 31, Cresendo Maksella 25, Sam Mvimbi 3/10, Irvin Campher 2/17, Darryl Sigula 2/17)
PIRATES UNITED 149/9 (Albertus Jaco de Lange 51, Bronwill Goede 25, Irvin Campher 22, Douglas Baartman 5/29, Lesley Maksella 2/30)
Pirates United won by 1 wicket

Pioneers from Plettenberg Bay and Mayflower from Great Brak River will contest for the honours in the Sedgars SWD Promotion League final that will be hosted at the REC Ground in Oudtshoorn on March, 11th 2017.

Pioneers (208/2) recorded a comprehensive 8 wickets victory against Blanco (204 all out) after they reached the winning target after 29.4 overs.

Mayflower (172/3) was also impressive in their 7 wicket victory against Hartenbos (171 all out).

The summarised score cards

Pioneers vs Blanco

BLANCO 204 (Ricardo Jansen 32, Ethan Coeries 26, Elrique Campher 26, Darryl Damons 2/38, Garth Bock 2/34, Jacques Ahrendse 2/20);
PIONEERS 208/2 (Ferdie Heuer 55*, Jacques Ahrendse 44, Roderick Swartz 31)
Pioneers won by 8 wickets

Mayflower vs Hartenbos

HARTENBOS 171 (Theo Nel 34, Ferdie Nel 26, Allister Pietersen 3/12, Limall Buys 2/19, Ricardo van Wyk 2/8) 
MAYFLOWER 172/3 (Kevin Jansen 53, Hugh Minnies 59, Zack Groenewald 28*, Stefan Terblance 2/28)
Mayflower won by 7 wickets

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →