Oakdale rules SWD Cricket

Oakdale Agricultural High School from Riversdale won both the U/19 and U/15 titles in the SWD Cricket Super League schools competition on Saturday.  In both finals, their opponents were Glenwood House from George.  Oakdale’s B-team also recently won the SWD u/19 Promotion league.

Back Row: Mr Andre Latsky (Headmaster), Matthew Golden, Janco Goosen, Alwich v.d. Linde, Matthew Stephens, Dewanley van Rensburg, Ryk Smit and Armand Bosch
Front Row: Efan Meyer, Christie van Greunen, Jesse Adams (Captain), Kaylim Cordier, Hendré Niemann and Mr Pine Marais (Coach)

In the U/15 final Oakdale (73/3) recorded a comfortable 7 wickets victory after dismissing Glenwood for 69.  In the U/19 final, Oakdale posted 218/7 and thereafter dismissed Glenwood for 155 for a 63 runs victory.

Back Row: Malan du Plessis (Coach), Jan-Hendrik van Wyk, Jay-Cee Nel, Robert Bosch, Johan Potgieter, Jan Daniel Strydom , Pierre Joubert, Hannes Gous, Franco Blignaut, Mr Jacques Budricks (Cricket Academy Coach)
Front Row: Mr Andre Latsky (Headmaster), Kevin de Kock, Luke Hertz, Pietie Uys, Stefan Marais and Hendrik Victor

The play-offs to determine the Western Cape representative for the Coca-Cola Schools T20 competition was also determined on Saturday in Paarl.  The SWD winner, Oakhill from Knysna, lost both their matches as Wynberg Boys High School emerged as the provincial winner.

The summarised score cards are:

U15 Super League Final – Oakdale vs Glenwood House

GLENWOOD HOUSE 69 (Kieran Baker 22; Matthew Golden 2/4; Jesse Adams 2/9; Kevin Cordier 2/12)
(Kevin Cordier 24)
Oakdale won by 7 wickets

U19 Super League Final – Glenwood House vs Oakdale

OAKDALE 218/7 (Jay-Cee Nel 39; Stephan Marais 38; Johan Potgieter 33; Scott Blackwell 2/19; Keighan Bradfield 2/32; 2/48)
GLENWOOD HOUSE 155 (Shaun Wagner 33; Keighan Bradfield 30; Luke Hertz 3/17; Robert Bosch 2/38)
Oakdale won by 63 runs


OAKHILL 78 (Sam Mvimbi 39; Andre Janse van Rensburg 3/6; Nicol LoftieEaton 3/7; Liam Fresen 3/22)
PAUL ROOS 80/1 (Lourens Smit 42*)
Paul Roos won by 9 wickets

WYNBERG BOYS HIGH 201/3 (Josh Breed 103; Karl Vermeulen 50; Umar Anthony 28)
OAKHILL 80 (Athi Kwitshana 24; Grant Martin 3/13; Ebrahiem Samaai 2/10)
Wynberg Boys High won by 121 runs

Share Button
, , , ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →