Agathagelou SWD player of the season

SWD runs scoring hero, Andrea Agathagelou, who excelled with the bat was awarded the Standard Bank trophy as player of the season during the SWD Cricket Annual Awards function that was held at the Protea King George Hotel on Saturday. 

Carlos Koeberg (right) the captain of Pioneers Cricket Club, winner of the Promotion League, receives the trophy as league winners from Mr Enrique Pietersen, member of the Board of Directors of SWD Cricket

He scored the second most runs for SWD in the Cricket South Africa Sunfoil Cup Three Day Competition – 710 runs at an average of 78.88 with a highest score of 199 not out which includes four centuries.  In the limited over competition he scored the most runs for SWD – 277 runs at an average of 55.4 with a highest score of 92 not out.

Francois Barnard (left) from Union Stars Cricket Club receives the trophy as Player of the Season in the Reserve League from Mr Shael Laminie the Vice-President of SWD Cricket

The various league winners – Union Stars (Premier League), Pioneers (Promotion League), Ramblers B (Reserve League), Union Stars (Twenty20 competition) and Union Stars (Women’s League) received their trophies whilst the outstanding performers in the league completion were also honoured.  The versatile and experienced Christo van Schalkwyk from Mossel Bay Cricket Club, who scored the sixth most runs and jointly took the most wickets was the Premier League player of the season whilst Clinton Pietersen (Mayflower Cricket Club) and Niel Hornbuckle (Pacaltsdorp United) who recorded outstanding achievements in the Promotion and Twenty20 league was awarded as the Promotion League and Twenty20 league player of the season.  Francois Barnard (Union Stars), with his outstanding batting performance in the Reserve League was the Player of the season in this league.  Harolene Rhodes (Mossel Bay) was the player of the season in the Women’s League.

Tasneem Nomdoe (left) receives the trophy as Scorer of the Year from Mr Eric Jacobs, Chairman of the SWD Cricket Scorers Association

Jean du Plessis, who was selected for the SA Colts team was the High Schools Player of the Season whilst his brother, Arnaud du Plessis (from Glenwood House) who produced outstanding performances at the CSA U/13 National tournament was the Primary Schools Players of the season.  Other category award winners were Tasneem Nomdoe (Scorer of the Season), Hennie Pieterse (Umpire of the Season), Japhtha Julies (Bridgton Sport Ground – Groundsman of the Season), Beviano Swiegelaar (LSEN Player of the Season) and Annerie Derckson from Sentraal High School (Girls u/19 player of the season).  Elzaan Pietersen who finished 14th overall on the CSA Limited Over Women’s Competition batting averages (197 runs at an average of 49.25) was awarded as the SWD Senior Women’s player of the season.

Heroline Rhodes (left) received the SP Swigelaar Floating Trophy for her outstanding achievements in the SWD Women’s league final from Mr Rudy Claassen, President of SWD Cricket

Harolene Rhodes was awarded the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for her outstanding achievements in the SWD Women’s League final where she scored 113 runs and took 6 wickets.  The SWD U/15 team, who excelled at the CSA U/15 National week that took place in Potchefstroom received the award as Representative Team of the Year.

Andrea Agathagelou

At school’s level Brian Jack (Sentraal High School) walked away with the trophies as batsmen of the Year in both the Coca Cola T20 Competition and Schools U/19 Super League as well as bowler of the season in the U/19 Super League.  Lando Olckers from Sao Bras Secondary School in Mossel Bay was the bowler of the Season in the T20 competition whilst Septimus Dercksen from Sentraal High School the Batsman of the Season in the U/15 Super League and  Ruben Groenewald from Glenwood House Bowler of the Season in the U/15 Super League.

Three members that passed away during the past year – Richard Meyer (former Ramblers player and administrator and LSEN Cricket Administrator) and Riedewaan Harker (scorer at Pirates United Cricket Club) – were all honored with a roll of honour award.

Bert Hanekom, a former educator at Langenhoven Gymnasium and schools cricket coach, received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution towards cricket at schools level.

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →