Saamtrek triumphs at Ernie Els SA Primary School Champs

JOHANNESBURG, 4 August 2017 – The Laerskool Saamtrek golf team celebrated its first national victory with runaway success in the seventh Ernie Els SA Primary School Championship at Randpark Golf Club on Friday.

2017 Ernie Els SA Primary School Championship winners Laerskool Saamtrek from Klerksdorp in the North West Province; credit Ernest Blignault.
(From left to right: Team manager Christo Wiggett, Zander Nel, Divan Mostert, Blake Botes, Heinrich Janse van Vuuren and GolfRSA Assistant Manager Golf Operations, David Younge)

The Klerksdorp quartet opened up a seven stroke lead with an opening total of 237 at the Bushwillow Course. Divan Mostert led the team for a second successive day with a one-under-par 71 and Heinrich Janse van Vuuren and Zander Nel added a pair of 83s for a final round 236.

Laerskool Saamtrek triumphed on 473 with a 14 stroke over Laerskool Wierda Park.

“I am blown away by what these boys achieved this week,” said Laerskool Saamtrek teacher and proud team manager Christo Wiggett.

“We only played in this prestigious event for the first time last year in Port Shepstone and we tied for 12th, but knowing what to expect, we prepared very well for this year’s championship .The effort of the players has astounded me, though.

“They all had one or two practice rounds on their own time before the championship to familiarise themselves with the Bushwillow Course. After our practice round on Wednesday, they spent two hours comparing notes and constructing course guides for themselves around the slopes on the greens and the best spots to hit.

“It’s a tough layout and the greens are particularly testing, so I really believe that their course management was key to their success. Although we won the North West Primary Schools League, this marks the first time a golf team from Laerskool Saamtrek has won the national title and I couldn’t be more proud.

“We have a great golf academy at the school, which is run by PGA teaching professional Jakes Minnie. This achievement will be a huge inspiration for all the youngsters at the academy, especially for the beginners and I am hopeful their success will draw more scholars to the golf academy.”

Jean-Pierre Jordaan (78), Raymond van Niekerk (82) and Reinhardt Uys (83) produced 243 in the final round to move Laerskool Wierdapark into second on 487.

A final round 252 from Franco Gericke (76), Michael Nortje (82) and Jacques Vermaak (94) earned Laerskool George Suid third spot at 496.

Mostert also clinched the Individual Competition on even-par 144. 

The 13-year-old Laerschool Saamtrek scholar was seven shots clear of Gericke from George, while Jordaan from Wierdapark finished in third on 157. Zamokuhle Nxasana from St Dunstan’s College and Kael Strydom from Curro Aurora carded respective rounds of 76 and 79 to tie for fourth on 158.

473 Laerskool Saamtrek
487 Laerskool Wierdapark
496 Laerskool George Suid
507 Laerskool Goedehoop
511 Clifton
517 Kruinsig
518 St Dunstan’s College
522 Laerskool de Villiers Graaff
540 Curro Aurora
543 Laerskool Constantiapark
553 Laerskool Buhrmannsdrif
556 Westville Snr Primary
580 St Stithians
682 Hoer en Laerskool Balfour

144 Divan Mostert 71 73
151 Franco Gericke 75 76
157 Jean-Pierre Jordaan 79 78
158 Zamokuhle Nxasana 82 76; Kael Strydom 79 79
159 Ruan de Villiers 80 79; Leonard Bevan 79 80
161 Raymond van Niekerk 79 82
162 Eric Venter 79 83
163 Zander Nel 83 80

Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →