SWD Cricket League results

Mossel Bay Cricket Club made history on Saturday as their first team won their first trophy since the unification process of SWD Cricket in 1991 when they clinched the SWD T20 title. 

Christo van Schalkwyk

They comprehensively defeated George in the final by 56 runs after a hard-working 21 runs victory against Harlequins Forces in the first semi-final.  In their semi-final against George, the eventual champions posted 175/6 thanks to a half century by Christo van Schalkwyk (50; 37; 3×6, 3×4).  Hanno Kotze (3/24) and Etienne Botha (3/30) both bagged three wickets as Harlequins was dismissed for 153 after 18.4 overs.

Jaco Janse van Rensburg (73; 53 balls, 1×6, 11×4 with the bat) and Wessel Hartslief (3/16 with the ball) were the heroes in the second semi-final as George (136 all out), who dismissed the NMU George Madibaz for 93 advanced to the final with a 43 runs victory.

In the final Kotze (91; 53 balls, 4×6, 6×4) paved the way with a brilliant innings to enable Mossel Bay reaching 181/6.  George never got going and was restricted to 125/6 inspite of a good fight by Franco Geldenhuys (65; 49 balls, 2×5, 6×4)   to secure Mossel Bay a 56 runs victory.

Mossel Bay, the newly crowned SWD Twenty 20 champions after they defeated George in the final on Saturday are:
Front Row: Jacques Budricks, Rowan Moore, Tony Ferreira, Shaun Ferreira (team manager), Niel Ferreira (captain) Heinz Kruger (coach).
Back Row: Dirk Lewis (chairman), Gerhard Lewis, Richard Maré, Arno Moolman. Christopher Bosch, Marco de Kock, Hanno Kotze and Etienne Botha
Insert: Christo van Schalkwyk

The summarised score cards are:


Harlequins Forces vs Mossel Bay

MOSSEL BAY 174/6 (20) (Christo van Schalkwyk 50, Hanno Kotze 30, Etienne Botha 25, Lesley Maksella 2/21, Jermaine Le Kay 2/44)  

HARLEQUINS FORCES 153 (18.4 overs) (Jaco Marx 41, Jermaine Le Kay 36, Letlotlo Sesele 21, Hanno Kotze 3/24, Etienne Botha 3/30, Ruaan Moore 2/26)

Mossel Bay won by 21 runs 

George vs NMU Madibaz George

GEORGE 136 (Jaco Janse van Rensburg 73, Franco Geldenhuys 22, Bailey Aarons 3/22, Coenie Nel 2/17, Todd Walker 2/28)

NMU GEORGE MADIBAZ 93 (19.4 overs) (Jean du Plessis 33, Johandre Barnard 22, Wessels Hartslief 3/16, Divan Coetzer 3/20, Grant Simpson 2/13) 

George won by 43 runs 


Mossel Bay vs George

MOSSEL BAY 181/6  (Hanno Kotze 91, Marco De Kock 28, Tony Ferreira 24, Divan Coetzer 3/27)

GEORGE 125/6  (Franco Geldenhuys 65, Richard Maree 2/21)

Mossel Bay won by 56 runs


Back Row: Divan coetzer; Arie van Dolderen (Chairman); Wim Basson; Siseko Miggels; Grant Simpson; Wessels Hartslief; Jaco Janse van Rensburg & Glenton Stuurman.  Front Row: Wessel van Dyk; Franco Geldenhuys (captain); Hannes van Niekerk; Sammy Joe Avontuur & Enver Bezuidenhout
Franco Geldenhuys (centre), the captain of George Cricket Club, receives the trophy as runners-up of the T20 competition from Mr Rudy Claassen (the President of SWD Cricket) and Mr Rustin Constance (Independent Director of SWD Cricket)


The summarised results of this weekend’s results in the SWD Promotion-, Reserve and Women’s league are: 


Dysselsdorp vs Ladismith

LADISMITH 63/10 (20.4); DYSSELSDORP 68/2 (7.3)

Dysselsdorp won by 8 wickets

New Dawn Park vs Sussex

NEW DAWN PARK 109/10 (44.4); SUSSEX 54/9 (17.3)

New Dawn Park won by 55 runs

Beaufort West vs Thembalethu

THEMBALETHU 243/9 (44.4); BEAUFORT WEST 247/8 (42)

Beaufort West won by 2 wickets

Calitzdorp vs Blanco

BLANCO 75/10 (25.2); CALITZDORP 53/10 (14.4)

Blanco won by 22 runs

Kranshoek Cobras vs Riversdale

RIVERSDALE 235/10 (35.5); KRANSHOEK COBRAS 195/10 (38.3)

Riversdale won by 40 runs

Heidelberg vs Wilderness Vipers

WILDENESS VIPERS 130/10 (40.1); HEIDELBERG 131/1 (12.1)

Heidelberg won by 9 wickets

Albertinia vs Knysna Cavaliers

ALBERTINIA 134/10 (37); KNYSNA CAVALIERS 135/2 (32.5)

Knysna Cavaliers won by 8 wickets

Mayflower vs Hartenbos

MAYFLOWER 93/10 (34); HARTENBOS 82/10 (33.4)

Mayflower won by 11 runs

Kwanonqaba vs St. Georges

ST GEORGES 199/10 (44); KWANONQABA 182 (34.1)

St Georges won by 17 runs 


Western Hope vs Union Stars

WESTERN HOPE 61/8 (13.4); UNION STARS 62/0 (7.4)

Union Stars won 10 wickets

Harlequins Forces vs Beaufort West


Harlequins Forces won by 6 wickets

Mossel Bay vs Riversdale

MOSSEL BAY 151/10 (41.2); RIVERSDALE 106/10 (26)

Mossel Bay won by 45 runs

Union Stars vs Beaufort West

BEAUFORT WEST 34/10 (11.3); UNION STARS 35/2 (5.1)

Union Stars won by 8 wickets


Mossel Bay B vs NMU Madibaz George B

MOSSEL BAY B 166/8 (50); NMU Madibaz George B 170/6 (35.4)

NMU Madibaz George B won by 4 wickets

Ramblers C vs Thembalethu B

RAMBLERS B 329/8 (50); THEMBALETHU B 46/9 (16.5)

Ramblers C won by 283 runs

George C vs Mayflower B

MAYFLOWER B 100/9 (27.4); GEORGE C 92/10 (27.3)

Mayflower B won by 8 runs

Hartenbos B vs Union Stars C

UNION STARS C 263/10 (41.1); HARTENBOS B 117/10 (22.3)

Union Stars C won by 146 runs

Mossel Bay B vs Harlequins Forces B

MOSSEL BAY B 146/10 (25.1); HARLEQUINS FORCES B 64/10 (23.2)

Harlequins Forces B won by 82 runs

Pirates United B vs Pacaltsdorp B

PIRATES UNITED B 255/10 (50); PACALTSDORP B 185/10 (34)

Pirates United B won by 70 runs 

Sussex B vs George B

GEORGE B 150/10 (35.5); SUSSEX B 133/10 (26.3)

George B won 17 runs

Ramblers B vs Pioneers B

RAMBLERS B 289/6 (50); PIONEERS B 56/3 (6)

Match abandoned

George C vs NMU Madibaz George B

GEORGE C 82/10 (21); NMU MADIBAZ GEORGE B 83/3 (13.3)

NMU Madibaz George B won by 7 wickets

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →