SWD Cricket appoints new coach

A new era for SWD Cricket under the newly appointed coach, Baakier Abrahams, will start this weekend when the Oudtshoorn based team will kick-off their campaign in the Cricket South Africa provincial competition.

Newly appointed SWD coach, Baakier Abrahams (back row second from the right), together with the SWD debutants and the appointed captains ahead of this weekend’s match against Eastern Province at the REC Ground at Oudtshoorn.
At the back are Sammy Mofokeng (who will make his debut for SWD), Daniel Sincuba (SWD debutant), Obus Pienaar (SWD debutant and limited over captain), Abrahams and Brendon Louw (Three Day captain). In the front row is Bayley Aarons (who will make his first-class debut) and Letlotle Sesele (who will make his debut for SWD)

SWD will take on Eastern Province at the Recreation Ground in the Sunfoil Cup Three Day competition (from Thursday to Saturday) while the one day match will be played on Sunday.

After a disappointing performance last season SWD will be desperate to turn their performance on the playing field around this season. The signs were already there in their Africa T20 cup when the team came very close in qualifying for the play-off matches.

Various new faces will also hopefully bring new energy to the team. Obus Pienaar, Letlotle Sesele, Sammy Mofokeng and Daniel Sincuba – all players with franchise experience – will bolster the SWD line-up whilst a young and exciting prospect, Bailey Aarons, who emerges from the SWD Schools and Academy structure, will make his first class debut.

The selectors has also opted to appoint various captains for the three and one-day format respectively. The experience former Outeniqua High and SA Schools wicket keeper batsman, Brendon Louw, will be the skipper for the three day team whilst Obus Pienaar will take charge for the one day team.

The SWD team for the three day match is:
Neil Hornbuckle, Letlotle Sesele, Sammy-Joe Avontuur, Daniel Sincuba, Obus Pienaar, Brendon Louw (captain), Hanno Kotze, Marcello Piedt, Glenton Stuurman, Bailey Aarons and Sammy Mofokeng. Justin Jordaan and Jean du Plessis will be added to the one day team.

The Eastern Province squad for the weekend is:
David White, Thokozani Peter, Luvuyo Adam, Matthew Christensen, Kelly Smuts (captain), Basheer Walters, Tlladi Bokako, Matthew Breetzke, Tian Koekemoer, Aubrey Ferreira, Gihahn Cloete, Solomzi Nqweni, Onke Nyaku and Brad Dolley

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →