Obus Pienaar the hero as Union Stars retain Premier League title

A brilliant batting display by SWD’s premier batsman, Obus Pienaar, was the key as Union Stars successfully defended their title as Premier League champions of the SWD. 


The Oudtshoorn based team, who have played in all eight finals since 2009/10 – defeated George – who played in their first final since 2010/11 by 42 runs.

Marcello Piedt (centre), the captain of Union Stars receives the Petersen Trophy as winners of the Premier League from Mr Shael Laminie (left) – Vice President SWD Cricket and Mr Simon Swigelaar (Honorary Life President SWD Cricket)

George, who won the toss and opted to field, was confronted by a brilliant innings by Pienaar who made an excellent century – 111 runs from 101 balls; 2×6, 11×4.  He was well supported by Envirino Swartz (75; 105 balls, 1×6, 9×4) as Union Stars reached 267 (all out after 49.5 overs).  Jaco Janse van Rensburg picked up 4/57.

Franco Geldenhuys (centre), the captain of George receives the trophy as runeers-up of the Premier League from Mr Shael Laminie (right) – Vice President SWD Cricket and Mr Simon Swigelaar (Honorary Life President SWD Cricket)

George made a good start thanks to Janse van Rensburg (38 from 40 balls; 1×6, 7×4) and Johandré Barnard (67; 83 balls, 7×4) but they could eventually not keep up to the required run rate and was restricted to 225/7 after 50 overs.  Pienaar (3/46) and Marcello Piedt (2/37) were the bowling heroes for Union Stars.

Union Stars will now take on Wellington (the Boland club champion) to determine who will represent the Western Cape at the Momentum National Club championships in Pretoria between 22 and 26 April. Due to the drought in Cape Town, no club champion was determined by Western Province.

George (117/8 in 40 overs) qualified for the final after they defeated Mossel Bay (96 all out) by 21 runs in the qualifier between the teams that finish second and third respectively.  The match was reduced to 40 overs per team due to a delayed start as a result of rain.  Union Stars, who topped the log after the preliminary round automatically qualified for the final. 


Union Stars vs George

UNION STARS 267/10 (49.5) (Obus Pienaar 111 (11×4, 2×6, 101 balls), Envirino Swartz 75 (9×4, 1×6, 105 balls), Letlotlo Sesele 29 (4×4, 1×6, 25 balls), Jaco Janse van Rensburg 4/57, Grant Simpson 2/41)

GEORGE 225/7 (50) (Johandre Barnard 67 (7×4, 83 balls) Jaco Janse van Rensburg 38 (7×4, 1×6, 40 balls), Glenton Stuurman 29* (2×4), Johannes van Niekerk 26 (1×4), Obus Pienaar 3/46, Marcello Piedt 2/37)

Union Stars won by 42 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →