NSRI Awards 2018

51st Annual General Meeting and Awards evening will be held in Cape Town on Saturday 9th June, 2018, at The Century City Conference Centre, 17h30 for 18h00.

Sea Rescue will honour contributions under the following categories: bravery, special service, station awards and long service awards from 20 to 50 years.

Mark Bayly, a Sea Rescue ambassador, has once again donated his time as our MC.

FIRE RESCUES: Recognition for the exceptional effort during the Knysna and Plettenberg Bay Fires in 2017 –  CEO Letters of Appreciation are presented to:

NSRI Station 12 Knysna and NSRI Station 14 Plettenberg Bay


On the afternoon of the 15th September 2017, crews from our NSRI Station 3 Table Bay, NSRI Station 8 Hout Bay and NSRI Training boats went to the assistance of the Robben Island ferry, the ‘Thandi’, when she began to take on water in Table Bay with 68 passengers on board. – CEO Letters of Appreciation are presented to:

Andrew Keil
Bevan Geyser
Bianca van Zyl
Brett Ayres
Carmen Long
Craig McIver
Daryn Clark
Davide del Fante
Gal Chiles
Graeme Harding
Hans-Daniel Heimann
Heather Forrer
Ian Watson
Marc de Vos
Nadia Niemann
Patrick van Eyssen
Paul de Villiers
Paula Leech
Robin Fortuin
Robyn Silverstone
Rory Friedman
Rudi Fisch
Yaseen Gamiet

Original media release –  http://www.nsri.org.za/2017/09/68-people-rescued-off-sinking-ferry/


 Recognition from the International Maritime Rescue Federation H.E.R.O. awards as the runner up for an Outstanding Team Contribution to the NSRI’s schools’ education programme in 2017. Our Water Safety Instructors around the country have taught over 1.6m children how to be safe around water, as part of our drowning prevention programme. The Award was presented to the water safety team leader Eoudia Erasmus and Instructor Charles McHelm at a ceremony in Poole by International Maritime Rescue Federation in November 2017.

The award is presented to Eoudia Erasmus, water safety team leader.


The Most Improved Station of the year 2017 awarded to: Station 16 Strandfontein

The Best RIB Station of the year 2017 awarded to: Station 21 St Francis Bay

The Pat O Sullivan Trophy, for the best Class 1 Station 2017 awarded to: Station 17 Hermanus


MARMION MARSH TROPHY 2017 awarded to: Howard Godfrey for his individual noteworthy service to the cause of Sea Rescue in South Africa for over 46 years.

ALRIC SIMPSON TROPHY 2017 awarded to: The Publishing Partnership for their remarkable effort and contribution since 2004 to the successful production and publication of the NSRI Magazine “SEA RESCUE”.

The Award is presented to Executive Directors Mark Beare and John Morkel and Managing Editor Wendy Maritz of TPP.

HONORARY LIFE MEMBERSHIP awarded to volunteers and staff that have been in service for more than 25 years and for their commitment to Sea Rescue.

Andrew Ingram
Andy Connell
Anita Conrad
Brad Geyser
Christopher Hudson
Craig Lambinon
David Roberts
David Robins
Edward Noyons
Gerald Staverees
Graeme Harding
Hendrik Niehaus
Howard Godfrey
Ian Strachan
Ian Wienburg
John Bailey Brown
Mark Hughes
Michael Elliot
Petronella Jacobs
Phil Ress
Robert Stirrat
Shawn Michaels
Stephanie Daniels
Theresa Medicine

Directors’ Thanks to Andy Connell – on the occasion of his standing down as Station Commander of Station 29 Air Sea Rescue.

Directors’ Thanks to Dave Roberts – on the occasion of his standing down as Regional Representative of NSRI Region 2, Cape Town.

Chairman’s Letter of Appreciation to Howard Godfrey – on the occasion of his standing down from the Awards Committee.


20 Years

Krista Lazzari – Head Office
Paula Leech – Station 3 Table Bay
Barbara McNamara – Station 5 Durban and Head Office
Adrian James – Station 6 Port Elizabeth
Alan Singman – Station 6 Port Elizabeth
Dewan Henn – Station 17 Hermanus

25 Years

Craig Lambinon – Station 2 Bakoven and Head Office
Grant Skinner – Station 3 Table Bay
Andre Fletcher – Station 5 Durban
Malcolm Manion – Station 5 Durban
Stuart Buchanan – Station 10 Simon’s Town
Keryn Van der Walt – Station 11 Port Alfred
Andre Jerling – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay
Hendrik Niehaus – Station 23 Wilderness
Shawn Michaels – Station 34 Yzerfontein

30 Years

Stephanie Daniels – Head Office
Andrew Matthews – Station 8 Hout Bay
Spencer Oldham – Station 8 Hout Bay
Graeme Harding – Station 12 Knysna and Head Office
Stephane Le Roux – Station 14 Plettenberg Bay
Dawie Zwiegelaar – Station 15 Mossel Bay
Edward Noyons – Station 20 Shelly Beach, Regional Director and Director

35 Years

Andrew Ingram – Station 2 Bakoven and Head Office
Johnny Albert – Station 2 Bakoven
Howard Bell – Station 2 Bakoven
Erwin Selk – Station 10 Simon’s Town
Mike Elliot – Station 12 Knysna, then Regional Director and Honorary Life Governor
Ian Klopper – Station 26 Kommetjie

40 Years

Michael Clark – Station 17 Hermanus
Mark Hughes – Station 19 Richards Bay and Head Office

50 Years

Ian Strachan – Station 9 Gordon’s Bay, then Regional Director, Director and Honorary Life Governor

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →