SWD ready for Africa T20 Cup

South Western Districts Cricket last week announced their squad for thirteen for PooB of the Africa T20 Cup that will be hosted from 14-16 September 2018. 

Obus Pienaar.  (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Oudtshoorn will be, as in 2016, be the host for Pool B.   Pool B – the pool of the death – will see hosts, SWD together with Gauteng, Northerns Free State and Zimbabwe. 

Jean du Plessis.  (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images)

Four franchises contracted players from the Cape Cobras were included in the SWD team.  Top order batsman, Zubayr Hamza, all rounders Aviwe Mgijima and Jason Smith together with openings bowler, Tladi Bokako will be key players for the home team.  SWD’s top performer last season, Obus Pienaar, will be an important player in the batting line-up whilst experienced SWD-players like Marcello Piedt, Neil Horbuckle and Brendon Louw will boost the SWD squad. 

Zubayr Hamza.  (Photo by Michael Sheehan/Gallo Images)

Leg-spinner, Jaco Janse van Rensburg, who will make his debut for SWD with Jean du Plessis and Bradley de Villiers will be the three u/21 players in the squad.  The rules of the competition require that two u/21 players must be included in the starting eleven.

Aviwe Mgijima.  (Photo by Michael Sheehan/Gallo Images)

The SWD squad is:  Zubayr Hamza, Neil Hornbuckle, Yamkela Oliphant, Obus Pienaar, Brendon Louw, Jean du Plessis, Jason Smith, Aviwe Mgijima, Marcello Piedt, Jaco Janse van Rensburg, Tladi Bokako, Bradley de Villiers and Tsepo Ndwandwa

Matches will be hosted at the Recreation Ground and the Bridgton Sports Ground. The SWD fixtures are:

14 September

Bridgton Sports Ground: 

SWD vs Gauteng (13:30-16:40)

Saturday 15 September

Recreation Ground:  SWD vs Free State (09:30-12:40),

SWD vs Northerns (13:30-16:40)

Sunday 16 September

Recreation Ground: 

SWD vs Zimbabwe (13:30-16:40)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →