SWD on a mission to East London

SWD will be hoping to conclude the year on a high when they will be in action for a third consecutive weekend when they take on Border at Buffalo Park in East London.

In a much improved season thus far the Oudtshoorn based team had the upper-hand in terms of bonus points in all their five three day matches – including a victory against Western Province and two credible  draws against Northerns and Northern Cape.  The biggest concern for coach Baakier Abrahams will be his team’s ability of his bowlers to finish off matches.

In the limited over competition the team is unbeaten after five outings and top the table and Obus Pienaar and his men will be very cautious to not getting complacent.   The team is however very well balanced and seemed to deal very well in the pressure situations.

With the half-way stage of the three- and one day competitions reached the individual performances of the SWD players will be the most encouraging for Abrahams.  Obus Pienaar, like the previous season, is a stalwart for the team.  He is the top runs scorer in the three day series – 532 runs at an average of 88.66 with 2 hundreds and 3 half centuries – highest score of 150*.   In the one-day series he scored the second most runs – 328 runs – at an average of 109.33 with one century and three half-century.

Marcello Piedt – who only  played in three of the five matches – is the leading wicket taker in the three day competition – 22 wickets and an average of 13.45.  Stefan Tait is the top wicket-taker in the one day competition (12 wickets at an average of 18.58) and Yamkela Oliphant the top fielder (7 catches in the three day competition).  He also averages 46 with the bat.

Neil Hornbuckle is the most economical bowler in both the three day and one day format.  His economy rate in three day cricket is 2.46 per over and in one day cricket 3.45 runs per over.

The SWD team for the weekend is:

Three Day:  Letlotle Sesele (captain) , Kirwin Christoffels, Jean du Plessis, Obus Pienaar, Brendon Louw, Yamkela Oliphant, Neil Hornbuckle, Marcello Piedt, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Hershell America and Bradley de Villiers.  Stefan Tait (in place of Bradley de Villiers) and Marco de Kock (in place of Kirwin Christoffels) will be added to the one day team.  Obus Pienaar is the one day captain.

Baakier Abrahams

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →