Union Stars women make it 5 in a row

The Union Stars Women’s team made it five in a row when they claimed their fifth consecutive SWD Women’s league title on Saturday after they defeated Harlequins by 108 runs.

Haroline Rhodes (centre), the captain of the Union Stars Women’s team receives the trophy as winners of the SWD Women’s league from Ms Shireen Noble (Vice-chairperson of the SWD Women’s Cricket Committee). On the left is the SWD Women’s coach – Shaun Pretorius

SWD batters, Harolene Rhodes (50) and Miceala Andrews (42) were the batting heroes for Union Stars who were bowled out for 184 runs after 43 overs.  Monique Booysen (5/33) impressed with the ball.  Harlequins responded with 76 (all out).  Janet Winster excelled with the ball with figures of 7/22.

The summarised score cards are: 

Union Stars vs Harlequins Forces

UNION STARS 184 (all out) (Harolene Rhodes 50, Miceala Andrews 42, Kaylene Pypers 21, Monique Booysen 5/33)

HARLEQUINS FORCES WOMEN 76 (all out) (Monique Booysen 30, Jane Winster 7/22)

Union Stars Women won by 108 runs 

CAPTION: The Union Stars Women’s team who won the SWD Women’s league for the 5th consecutive time after they defeated Harlequins by 108 runs on Saturday is:
Back row: Minoreen Bredenkamp; Caroline Murphy; Kaylene Pypers; Jenilee Manuel; Aisha Arendse; Miceala Coetzee; Francisca Bantom; Cecilia Strydom; Elize Strydom; Kelsey Stuurman.
Front row: Jeneviwe Jantjies; Miceala Andrews; Jane Winster; Haroline Rhodes (captain)

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →