SWD Cricket League results

George (88/5) who defeated Mossel Bay (85 all out) comprehensively by 5 wickets on Saturday finish the season at the top of the table and will directly advance to the final of the competition.

The defending champions, Union Stars (46/4) who were too strong for Harlequins (44/9) ended second and will have home ground advantage in the play-off match which will be against NMU George.

The NMU students suffered an unexpected defeat against Pioneers on Saturday (lost by 54 runs) but on  Sunday they defeated Ramblers by 83 runs to secure a place in the play-offs.

Pacaltsdorp (222 all out) – thanks to Neil Hornbuckle (67) and Duren Felix (5/48) defeated Western Hope  (197) by 35 runs.

Ramblers (196 all out), who enjoyed a very good season, lost by 13 runs against Knysna Cavaliers (209/8) on Saturday.

Mossel Bay (8th), Western Hope (9th) and Pacaltsdorp United (10th) – who were the three teams at the bottom of the log will now, together with the winner of the promotion league play out for a place to determine the 8th team that will stay in the premier league.  As from 2019/20 the premier league will be reduced to only 8 teams.

The summarised score cards for the weekend are:

Pacaltsdorp United vs Western Hope

PACALTSDORP UNITED 222 (Neil Hornbuckle 67, Jermaine Jeonna 43, Robin Hector 33, Javier Philander 3/35, James Bruiners 2/23, Franklin Stuurman 2/30, Gurshwin Prins 2/35)

WESTERN HOPE 187  )Duren Felix 5/48, Sydwell Williams 3/32)

Pacaltsdorp United won by 35 runs

Mossel Bay vs George

MOSSEL BAY 87  (Tony Ferreira 23, Shane Smith 4/40, Bailey Aarons 2/6, Johandre Barnard 2/8)

GEORGE 88/5 (Marco de Kock 39, Franco Geldenhuys 20*, Wietsche van der Westhuizen 2/32)

George won 5 wickets

Ramblers vs Knysna Cavaliers

KNYSNA CAVALIERS 209/8 (Jean Pierre Ellis 67*, AB van der Walt 38, Francois Bontthuys 29, Quinton Davids 4/39, Liyabona Malefi 2/33)

RAMBLERS 196 (Bradley De Villiers 57, Andrew Calvert 37, Francois Swart 34, Irvin Campher 4/22, Byron Jantjies 3/7)

Knysna Cavaliers won by 13 runs

Pioneers vs NMU Madibaz George

PIONEERS 200/7 (Danrick Moodien 52, Brendon Louw 47, Anschwijl Windvogel 24, Joshua de Ponte 2/32, Todd Walker 2/32, Travis Ackerman 2/32)

NMU MADIBAZ GEORGE 146 Joshua De Ponte 50, Claude Terblanche 6/28, Carlos Koeberg 2/33)

Pioneers won by 54 runs

Union Stars vs Harlequins Forces

HARLEQUINS FORCES 44/9  (Enverino Swartz 4/10, Hershell Amerika 3/8)

UNION STARS 46/4  (Yamkela Oliphant 16, Jason Cooper 3/16)

Union Stars won by 6 wickets

Ramblers vs NMU Madibaz George

NMU MADIBAZ GEORGE 195/5 (50) (Joshua de Ponte 68*, Travis Ackerman 54*, Todd Walker 38, Gert Swart 2/55, Andrew Calvert 2/68)

RAMBLERS 112 (Arthur Lottering 26, Travis Lottering 4/18, Wiaan Oosthuizen 2/16, Joshua Klue 2/42)

NMU Madibaz George won 83 runs

Union Stars B retained the SWD Reserve League title on Saturday when they defeated George B by 175 runs in the final that was played at the NMU Madibaz campus in George.

Back Row: Chris Andries (Executive member of the club); Mc Jason Goliath; Joviano Tock; Calvin Weyers (Team Manager); Romano John; Tyrese Karelse; Clifton Olivier; Ayabonga Ngondo; Anver Venter; Clarissa Stuurman (Executive member of the club); Allan May; Lee Henry Meyer; Sheldon Eksteen and Pat Sambo (Executive member of the club)
Front Row: Yamkela Xakani; Keagan Gertse; Elridge Booysen (captain); Regan Rhoode and Tyrique Wessels

Joviano Tock (66) and Anver Venter (50*) with the bat together with Allan May (5/13) with the ball were the heroes in this comprehensive victory.  Union Stars posted a competitive 246/8 and thereafter dismissed George for only 71.

Hannes van Niekerk, captain of George B, receives the runners-up trophy from Albertus Kennedy the Chief Executive Officer of SWD Cricket. On the right is Pieter Stuurman – the Club Cricket Coordinator of SWD Cricket

In terms of the new league structure that will be implemented in 2018/19 Union Stars, B will now be promoted to the Promotion league.

The summarised scorecard is:

George B vs Union Stars B

UNION STARS B 246/8 (50) (Joviano Tock 66, Anver Venter 50*, Tyrique Wessels 45)

GEORGE B 71/10 (24) (Allan May 5/13; Regan Rhoode 2/18)

Union Stars B won by 175 runs

Elridge Booysen, the captain of Union Stars B, receives the trophy as league winners from Albertus Kennedy the Chief Executive Officer of SWD Cricket
Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →