SWD Cricket League results

The SWD premier league competition was concluded the past weekend as NMU George, who will take on Union Stars in the qualifier for a place in the premier league final – suffered two defeats.

On Saturday Pioneers from Plettenberg Bag (110/1) were too strong for the George students and won by 9 wickets.  NMU were restricted for 108/6. Knysna Cavaliers (321 all out) on Sunday beat NMU (44 all out) by 278 runs.

All eyes will be on the premier league final on Sunday where top of the table finishers, George, will take on the winner of the qualifier on Saturday.  The defending champions Union Stars will host NMU at the Bridgton Sports Grounds.  The final on Sunday will be contested at the REC Ground in Oudtshoorn.

The summarised scorecards are:

NMU Madibaz George vs Pioneers

NMU MADIBAZ GEORGE 108  (Wiaan Oosthuizen 32*, Devan Olivier 29, Claude Terblanche 3/21, Keith Oraai 2/31)

PIONEERS 110/1  (Jacques Ahrendse 53, Mark Vermeulen 27*)

Pioneers won by 9 wickets 

Knysna Cavaliers vs NMU Madibaz George

KNYSNA CAVALIERS 321  (Maurice White 38, Jade Kolbee 38, B Barnard 36, Neville McLean 35, JP Ellis 33, Francois Bonthuys 31, AB van der Walt 22,  Wiaan Oosthuizen 3/53, Daniel Miskey 2/52, Joshua de Ponte 2/87)

NMU MADIBAZ GEORGE 44  (Joshua de Ponte 31, Neville McLean 5/9)

Knysna Cavaliers won by 278 runs


Thembalethu and Riversdale advanced to the final of the SWD Promotion league that will be hosted at the Recreation Ground on Saturday.

Thembalethu (178/7) showed a great composure and thanks to a match winning knock by Thabo Dywili (74) reached the winning target in the 45th over after they restricted Pirates to 177/9.  Mihlali Gcanga bagged 4/25.

Riversdale – who posted a modest 142 (all out) – were the best of in the Hessequa derby when they restricted Heidelberg to 98 for a 44 runs victory.  Evan Prins (58 with the bat) and Marvin Kortje (5/46) with the ball were the heroes for Riversdale.

For both teams a lot will be at stake on Saturday – especially the aspiration to be promoted to the premier league.  Riversdale’s last stint in the premier league was in 2000/01 whilst Thembalethu got relegated after the 2014/15 season.  The winner of the promotion league competition together with the bottom three teams in the premier league – Mossel Bay (8th), Western Hope (9th) and Pacaltsdorp United (10th) will log horns in a round robin series of matches on 16-, 23- and 30 March to determine which team will qualify for a place in the premier league in 2019/20.  The premier league competition will be reduced to eight teams. 

The summarised score sheets are:

Pirates United vs Thembalethu

PIRATES UNITED 177/9  (Jade Titus 48, Bronwill Goede 32, Darryl Sigula 24, Curnol Thorne 20, Mihlali Gcanga 4/25, Joseph Sonti 2/34, Ayabonga Anthony 2/53)

THEMBALETHU 178/7 (Thabo Dwyili 74, Andrew Jantjies 41, Darryl Sigula 2/32)

Thembalethu won by 3 wickets

Heidelberg United vs Riversdale

RIVERSDALE 142  (Evan Prins 58, Bart Nel 32, Jaylin Opperman 2/11, Elrick Pretorius 2/27)

HEIDELBERG UNITED 98 (Elrick Pretorius 28, Jaques Thyse 22, Marvin Kortje 5/46, Jason van Rensburg 3/26, Donovan Pietersen 2/19)

Riversdale won by 44 runs

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →