Thembalethu win Promotion League

Thembalethu Cricket Club on Saturday produced a great performance and underline the value and quality of the SWD Cricket development program when they won the SWD promotion league.  They defeated Riversdale by 5 wickets in a hard fought final.

Mihlali Gcanga (centre), the captain of Thembalethu CC with the trophy as winners of the SWDC Promotion league with Rudy Claassen (SWDC President) and Shael Laminie (SWDC Vice-President) on the right

Riversdale, who were restricted to 124 thanks to a fine bowling performance by Anoxolo Khitshini (4/20), Feni Kamvalethu (3/26), Mesuli Vuba (2/26).  Thembalethu reached the winning runs (125/5) in the 30th over thanks to contributions by Lastword Tapfumaneyi (30) and the 17-year old Mesuli Vuba (20*).

As winners of the promotion league, Thembalethu will now play in a round-robin series of matches against the premier league teams that finish (8th) Mossel Bay, (9th) Western Hope and (10th)  Pacaltsdorp United to determine which team will advance to the premier league in 2019/20.  The premier league will be reduced to only 8 teams.

The summarised score card is:

Thembalethu vs Riversdale

RIVERSDALE 124/10 (31.3) (Bart Nel 23, Marcello Wessels 17, Mervin Prins 17, Anoxolo Khitshini 4/20, Feni Kamvalethu 3/26, Mesuli Vuba 2/26)

THEMBALETHU 125/5 (29.4) (Lastword Tapfumaneyi 30, Mesuli Vuba 20*, Lukhanyo Makula 17, Feni Kamvalethu 16*, Granwin Scholtz 2/24, Marvin Kortje 2/36)

Themblethu won by 5 wickets  

The promotion-relegation fixtures are:

Mossel Bay vs Western Hope, Pacaltsdorp United vs Thembalethu (16 March)

Western Hope vs Pacaltsdorp United, Thembalethu vs Mossel Bay (23 March)

Mossel Bay vs Pacaltsdorp United, Western Hope vs Thembalethu (30 March)

CAPTION: Thembalethu Cricket Club – Winners of the SWD Promotion League:
Back Row: Mr Shael Laminie (Vice-President SWD Cricket), Mr Reginald Solomoms (Independent Director SWD Cricketi), Lukhnyo Makula, Andrew Jantjies, Ayabonga Antony, Lastword Tapfumaneyi, Bonginkosi Mafilika, Ayabonga Kitshini, Lindokhuhle Sizani, Kamvalethu Feni and t Mr Rudy Claassen (President SWD Cricket)
Front Row: Mihle Dingiswayo, Thabo Djwili, Bevin Kadzviti, Mesuli Vuba, Mihlali Gcanga (Captain), Joseph Sonti and Anoxolo Kitshini

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →