NMU ready to fly the SWD flag

The Nelson Mandela University, the winners of the South Western Districts premier league will has aspirations to become the first SWD team to represent the Western Cape franchise at the Momentum National Club Championships that will be hosted in Pretoria later this month.

The George students as the SWD winner together with the University of Stellenbosch – Maties (Boland) and Durbanville Cricket Club (Western Province) will log horns this weekend in a play-off to determine the team that will advance to the prestigious event that will be hosted from 13 to 17 April.

The NMU team consist of numerous players with provincial first class experience including Kirwin Christoffel, Travis Ackermann, Todd Walker, Stefan Tait, Akhona Mnyaka and Jean du Plessis.  Mnyaka represented the Cobras in their recent Momentum One Day Cup campaign.

The NMU team are:  Kirwin Christoffels, Travis Ackermann, Jean Du Plessis, Todd Walker, Heath Richards, Joshua Kleu,  Wiaan Oosthuizen, Daniel Miskey, Stefan Tait, Sam Ntlahla, Tristan Reid, Devon Olivier and Akhona Mnyaka.

The matches will be played at the Vineyard Cricket Club at Newlands.  The fixtures are:

Friday 5 April:  Maties vs Durbanville

Saturday 6 April:  NMU George vs Maties

Sunday 7 April:  NMU George vs Durbanville

CAPTION: The  Nelson Mandela University George Cricket Club who won the SWDC premier league:
Back Row:  Heath Richards, Joshua Klue, Joshua de Ponte, Jean du Plessis, Francois Barnard, Travis Ackermann (captain) and Todd Walker.
Front Row:  Jordan van Vuuren, Daniel Miskey, Wiaan Oosthuizen, Stefan Tait, Levin Muller and Kirwin Christoffels.

Share Button
, ,

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →