Obus Pienaar is SWD’s Player of the Season

SWD batting hero, Obus Pienaar, won the prestigious SWD Player of the Season Award at their Annual Awards Function that was held at D’Opstal Country lodge near Oudtshoorn on Friday evening.  Pienaar claimed this prestigious award for the second consecutive season.

Pienaar topped the overall Provincial One Day Cup averages with an impressive average of 99,80 after 499 runs in the season with one century, four five half centuries and a top score of 141*.   In the CSA Provincial Three Day competition he topped the overall average (79.75) after scoring a total of 957 runs with four centuries and five half-centuries.

The SWD U/16 Regional Performance team that excelled at the recent Standard Bank National RPC/Hubb week won the award as representative provincial team of the year.

Dillan Nuys (Union  Stars CC) who was the top-wicket taker was the Premier League player of the season, Clinton Pietersen (Mayflower CC) won the award for the Promotion League. Elridge Booysen who excelled with both bat and ball  for Union Stars B won the award as Reserve League Player of the Season, Brendon Louw (Pioneers CC) the T20 player of the season and Haroline Rhodes – who scored the third most runs in the Women’s League and taking the most wickets – received the Award as Women’s Player of the Season.

Bradley Manewill (Intellectually Impaired Player of the Season), Beviano Swigelaar (LSEN Player of the Season), Zander Nel (Primary Schools Player of the Season), Jhedli van Briesies (High Schools Player of the Season), Annerie Dercksen (Girl’s Player of the Season), Jané Winster (SWD Women’s Player of the Season), Pat-Mario Meyer (SWD Scorer of the Season), André Olivier (SWD Umpire of the Season) and Angelo Busch (from Melkhoutfontein CC – the Club Groundsman of the Season) were the respective category winners.

Special Merit Awards were awarded to Jhedli van Briesies (selected for the Coca Cola T20 All Star team), Geon Burns and Chumani Mangqwengwe (selected for SA U/16 RPC team), Annerie Dercksen (selected for SA Girls U/19 team), Levin Muller, Franklin Stuurman and Mesuli Vuba (selected for Cobras Franchise Colts team), Jason Maswanganyi (appointed as assistant coach for the Cobras Franchise Colts team),  Marcello Piedt (played his 50th First Class match for SWD), André Olivier (Appointed as Umpire to officiate in CSA National tournaments), Tsepo Ndwandwa (selected for WSB Cape Cobras and SA Invitational XI that played against Pakistan) and Marcello Piedt (selected for Multiply Titans).

Five members who passed away during the past season – Kelvin Briesies, a transport service provider from Mossel Bay, Charles Gelderbloem the Honorary Life-President of Mayflower Cricket Club, Hansie Slabbert (a photographic framer of SWD Cricket), André Stander (a well-known newspaper reporter) and Shane Vergotine (from Blanco Cricket Club) were honored with a Roll of Honor Award.

The Human Resource Administrator of the company, Ms Zenobia Nel, who is employed since the opening of a permanent office since October 2004 received the Simon Swigelaar Floating Trophy for his outstanding services to SWD Cricket.  Lifetime Achievements were also awarded to two respected newspaper reporters Garnett Wicomb and Jannie Meyer.

The respective league and club winners also received their trophies.  They were:

  • U/15 Promotion League: Outeniqua U/15 B
  • U/15 Super League: Outeniqua High
  • Coca Cola T20: Langenhoven Gymnasium
  • U/19 Promotion League : Oakdale U/19B
  • U/19 Super League: Outeniqua High
  • Women’s League Winners: Union Stars
  • Reserve League Winners: Union Stars B
  • Promotion League Winners: Thembalethu
  • T20 Knock-Out Competition: George
  • Premier League Winners: Nelson Mandela University Cricket Club (George)

Caption: Obus Pienaar – the SWD Cricket Player of the Season for 2018/19

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →