SAMA25 Record of the Year Top 20 unveiled

It’s a four way tussle over SAMA25 Record of the Year glory as revealed tonight on SABC1 music show Live Amp. Prince Kaybee, Shekhinah, Sun-El Musician and Mlindo the Vocalist lead the pack with two nods each in the list of top 20 finalists.

Prince Kaybee has his hits Banomoya featuring Busiswa and TNS; and Club Controller featuring LaSoulMates to thank for his double nomination. Shekhinah’s Please Mr and Different featuring Mariechen also secured her a double whammy.

Sun-El Musician’s Sonini featuring Simmy and Lelo Kamau; and Bamthathile featuring Mlindo the Vocalist earned him the twin nods. In his own right, Mlindo the Vocalist bagged two nods for his hits Macala featuring Kwesta, Thabsie and Sfeeso as well as for AmaBlesser featuring DJ Maphorisa.

Already sitting pretty with the most SAMA25 nominations at five, DJ Black Coffee and David Guetta’s Drive featuring Delilah Montagu ups his tally.

Lady Zamar cracked the list with Collide as did Kwesta with Vur Vai. AKA’s Fela in Versace featuring Kiddominant is also in competition. Zonke vies for the top prize with her upbeat Tonight.

Vusi Nova’s Asphelelanga featuring Jessica Mbangeni is up for top honours.

The list has been put up for public vote and the last 10 will fight it out at the SAMA25 gala evening.

Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO commented: “We are delighted to present the top 20 list for Record of the Year, by all accounts it’s a fair reflection of what happened in the past year. These songs were anthems in their own rights and got the nation buzzing. We urge fans, supporters and lovers of local music to be fast on their fingers and make their voices count by voting for their favourites.”

The MEC for Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs (CATA) in the North West, supporters of SAMA25, said the Top 20 mix was a true reflection of the “heartbeat of the nation’’.

“Looking at the contestants in the Record of the Year category, you get a sense of what the nation has been grooving to,’’ said Mme Ontlametse Mochware. “As supporters of the awards, we are delighted to see such high-quality contestants vying for the top award. As things stand, any of the 20 nominees could romp home with the award. That’s pretty serious completion, something we are very thrilled to see. May the best nominee win!’’

“Just like the SAMAs, Vodacom celebrates 25 years of connecting South Africans to the music they love this year, and in doing so acknowledges the hard work and dedication that goes in before being recognised on a nominees list of this calibre. My Muze, connected by Vodacom, congratulates every nominee, and wishes them the very best in the race to winning Record of the year.” – Rehana Hassim: Vodacom Portfolio Manager – Music.

To vote for your favourite nominee for ROTY go to or download the My Muze app from the Google Play store. Alternatively, SMS the number of your favourite artist to 45887 or dial *120*45887# at a cost of R1.50 

See the complete list of SAMA25 ROTY nominees and their voting codes below:

1. Lady Zamar – Collide 01
2. Black Coffee & David Guetta feat. Delilah Montagu – Drive 02
3. Prince Kaybee feat Busiswa & TNS – Banomoya 03
4. Holly Rey – Deeper 04
5. Prince Kaybee & LaSoulMates – Club Controller 05
6. DjGanyani feat. Nomcebo – Emazulwini 06
7. Sun-El Musician feat. Simmy & Lelo Kamau – Sonini 07
8. AKA feat. Kiddominant – Fela in Versace 08
9. Malumz On Decks & Gino Brown feat. Mr. Vince– Shay’inumber 09
10. Dladla Mshunqisi feat Distruction boyz & DJ Tira – Pakisha 10
11. Sjava feat. Emtee & Saudi – Abangani 11
12. Sun-EL Musician feat. Mlindo The Vocalist – Bamthathile 12
13. Shekhinah – Please Mr 13
14. Kwesta – Vur Vai 14
15. Mlindo the Vocalist feat. Kwesta, Thabsie and Sfeeso – Macala 15
16. Zonke – Tonight 16
17. Mlindo feat. DJ Maphorisa – AmaBlesser 17
18. Shekhinah feat. Mariechan – Different 18
19. Vusi Nova feat. Jessica Mbangeni- Asphelelanga 19
20. DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota – Ziwa Murtu 20


  • The SAMA25 award show will be staged on May 31 and June 1 at Sun City resort in North West province.
  • The annual South African Music Awards (SAMAs) are organised by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) in partnership with the North West Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs.
  • SABC is the official broadcast partner of SAMA25.
  • SAMA25 is supported by MY MUZE, Department of Arts and Culture, CAPASSO, SAMPRA and SAMRO

Social Media Handles:

Instagram: @thesamas

Twitter: @TheSAMAs

Facebook: South African Music Awards

Hashtag: #SAMA25ROTY


YouTube: samusicawards

Share Button

About southcapenet

Adding value to my domain hosting and online advertising services.
View all posts by southcapenet →